View Single Post
Old 07-14-2009, 03:49 AM   #1
Belt holder
ESB Addict
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,397
vCash: 685
Default Greatest 10 Australian heavyweight Champion ever

These are the guys that i see as contenders. How do you guys see the order?

Joe Goddard – Won the title in 1890 and his 4 title defences included Peter Jackson, Mick Dooley, and Joe Choynski. He did not lose the title and relinquished it to go overseas to fight for the world title. He was a world class fighter during his reign.

Frank Paddy Slavin – his one round demolition of Mick Dooley won him the title. Although he never defended it, he was a world class fighter and did not loss another fight against world class fighters until four years later when Peter Jackson knocked him out.

Peter Jackson – Won the title in 1886 by ko ing Tom Lees, who had beaten Bill Farnan. Jackson would not lose another fight until his virtual retirement in 1892, This makes a 6 year title reign.

Sam Langford – Sam won the title at his second attempt from McVey, but he did go on to ko him twice and assert his superiority. Other than the series with McVey his only defence was his 15 round draw with Colin Bell and in 1913 he appeared to relinquish his crown, although I think it is safe to say that at this point in time there were not any real challengers for the crown. Langford’s career is well known, although it should be noted that in 1914 he knocked out Colin Bell in the 4th round and in late 1913 he also beat the former Australian champion Jack Lester.

Sam McVey – Won title in 1911 with a win Unanimous points decision win over Jack Lester who had just beaten the long time Australian champion Bill Lang. McVey immediately defends and beats both Land and Lester in his title defences and also finds time to win the world Coloured championship against Sam Langford. And he did not lose the title until april 1912 when he was beaten on points by Sam Langford. Although McVey would lose his next 3 australian title fights to Langford (two by KO) he would still continue as a major player and only the Harry Wills was able to KO him at this late stage of his career. He is well known.

Bill Farnan – Won the title in 1881 and went undefeated until 1885 when he eventually loss to tom Lees. His defences included a win against Peter Jackson

Bill Lang was roughly 190 lbs and 6 ft 1 “. Prior to winning the title, his only KO loss was a 9th round TKO to the legendary Jack Johnson in early 1907. 1907 to 1911 Bill Lang had 11 title defences including a 12th round KO of a very old bob Fitzsimmons. During this reign he did have 2 losses to Tommy Burns. The first was a a 6th round KO loss, where he did knock Tommy down in the second and also a points loss. After this, he later fought on but was beaten by Sam Lanford (dqd) and Sam McVey among other losses, but it seems his best days were behind him, although he did still have enough left to beat Arthur Pelkey and Bill Squires who were both good fighters.

Les Darcy won the Australian title in February 1916 and had 3 defences that year including 2 ko wins over former champion Dave Smith. Darcy won the title despite being a natural middleweight and although he was one of the countrys most promising fighters ever, he didn’t really do enough to rate too highly at Aust title ATG level.

Jack Johnson won the title in 1945. He would have 6 Title Defences, until 1948. However, quite strangely, during this time he would challenge the legendary Dave Sands for the Australian Light Heavyweight title and get Kod both times. He would also lose two other non title matches on points. Technically, Sands would hold claim to the lineal Australian Title at the point that he won these matches.

Dave Sands 1948 demolition jobs on Australian heavyweight Champion Jack Johnson won him the light heavy championship and also technically the Australian lineal heavyweight Championship. He received official recognition in 1950 when he beat Alf Gallagher and he later defended in 1952 in what was tragically his last fight. He did also have a couple of Heavyweight wins mixed in with his lower weight world title campaining fights. In holding the title from 1948 until his death in 1952, his 4 year uninterrupted reign as Australian champion is very impressive, despite his career promising much more.

Ambrose Palmer beat the tough Jack omally in 1932, weighing just 168 lb. Although Ambrose would sit on his title with his next defence not coming until 1938, he was campaining actively at the lighter weights and at an international level, as well as winning fights against the best local fighters. He did lose a couple, but they were to good fighters not based in Australia. He was a better champion than his number of defences suggest.

Allen Williams. Won in 1955 and had 9 defences with his last being his loss in his last fight to Steve Raduly. He also did have two losses during this time to Non Australian fighters.

Tony Mundine – First won the title in 1972. Although he would lose middleweight fights to world class fighters during this time, he would hold the lineal Australian title and his wins would include a win over Steve Axcel who would go on to claim the Paper Australian title during his absence. Mundine would continue his reign by winning the title in 1977 and he then had 3 defences, the last being in 1981. In reality, he was the best fighter in Australia when he retired in 1984, although he was old and ready for the taking by this time. Still, between 1972 and 1984 he was australias best fighter. This is a record that really takes some beating.

Joe Bugner – Joe was past his best when he won the Australian title in 1995 with a win over vince Cervi. He was still good enough to beat Bob Mirovic and Colin Wilson, Both of whom have until only recently been the two main Australian Title holders. And during the Australian title campain he was at one time world rated (until Bruno knocked him out). It is probably a shame that he didn’t get to Meet Jimmy Thunder during this time, but his reign was still impressive.

Kali Meehan – Kali won the title in 1999 and he had 3 title defences. He is pretty much accepted as the best Australian fighter even today, so despite his inactivity his reign can be said to be coming on to 10 years. He reached world title status, although he has been well beaten
Boilermaker is offline  Top
Reply With Quote