Boxing  

Forum Home Boxing Forum European British Classic Aussie MMA Training
Go Back   Boxing News 24 Forum > Boxing > General Boxing Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-27-2012, 03:41 PM   #1
Juiceboxbiotch
Belt holder
ESB Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,966
vCash: 372
Default Boxing Scoring FAQ and Discussion

The 10-Point Must System is complicated and there have been (understandably) quite a few threads asking about certain aspects of properly scoring a Boxing match (as well as a lot of uninformed posters answering). So I put together a brief overview and FAQ on this topic. I hope it helps increase the understanding of scoring around here...

If you are the TL;DR type, jump to the bottom of the post and reference the FAQ.
Quote:
Professional Boxing matches are scored using the "10-Point Must System". This system assigns ten points to the winner of each round. The loser receives nine points for a close round, eight points if he was knocked down or dominated, and seven points if he was knocked down twice. If a round is even and neither boxer was knocked down, both boxers receive 10 points. If each boxer was knocked down once, the knockdowns are disregarded and the winner of the round receives 10 points, while the loser receives nine points.

Each round is typically scored by the following criteria:

Clean Punching - Punches landed cleanly in the legal scoring area of the other fighter on the knuckle part of the glove. Punches landed to the back of the head, the rear torso, or below the beltline are not legal. "Slapping" or "Backhanded" punches are not legal, and glancing or partially blocked punches should not be counted in scoring.

Effective Aggressiveness - When a fighter is moving forward, and in doing so scores more clean punches or damaging blows on his opponent.

Ring Generalship - If a fighter is able to control the pace and style of the fight and impose his style on the other fighter, he is winning in the Ring Generalship category. For example: A "brawler" will try to drag a "boxer" into an inside fight by moving forward and cutting off the ring, whereas the "boxer" will try to keep the "brawler" at a distance using his legs and his jab. It is important for the judges to understand the style of each fighter to properly score Ring Generalship.

Defense - A largely ignored category. Defense is the ability of a fighter to avoid being hit by the other fighter's punches by blocking, slipping, dodging, or staying out of range.

The boxer with more accumulated points at the end of the match is the winner of the match, as long as two of the three judges are in agreement. The four possible decisions of a bout that goes the distance are as follows:

Unanimous decision: All three judges score the same boxer as the winner.

Split decision: Two of the three judges score in favor of one boxer, who is declared the winner, despite the fact that the third judge ruled in favor of the other boxer.

Majority decision: Two of the three judges score in favor of one boxer, who is declared the winner, despite the fact that the third judge ruled the contest a draw.

Draw: If at least two judges have the match as tied, then a draw will be declared. Also, a draw occurs if one judge has one winner, another judge has a different winner, and the third judge has a draw.

A bout can also be stopped earlier than the scheduled duration due to Knockout (KO), Technical Knockout (TKO) or Referee's Technical Decision (RTD), which is a stoppage by the referee between rounds. Once a boxer gets to his feet after being knocked down, he must be approved to continue by the referee. If the boxer is unable to recover from the knockdown within ten seconds, his opponent wins by way of knockout. A referee can also choose to stop a fight at any point to protect a boxer from severe injury. In this case, the boxer loses by Technical Knockout. In the very rare case that neither fighter is able to continue (including the theoretical "double KO" scenario), the fight is declared a Technical Draw.

Fouls – (Knockdowns are deducted BEFORE fouls) such as head butts and low blows – inevitably occur during a bout. The referee must make a judgment whether the committed foul was intentional or unintentional. If an intentional foul occurs and the boxers are both able to continue fighting, the referee must take at least one point away from the boxer who committed the foul. If a boxer cannot continue due to injury from an intentional foul, the boxer who committed the foul is disqualified.
Unintentional fouls occur much more often than intentional fouls, though. Boxers who commit unintentional fouls receive a warning from the referee, who can deduct points from the boxer if he continues to commit fouls. Unintentional fouls that immediately end a fight can result in either a “no-contest” ruling or a declared winner.
A no-contest occurs if less than four rounds of the match have been completed. Neither boxer is declared the winner in a no-contest. If the fight has gone past four rounds, then a winner is declared. The winner, in this case, is the boxer who has the most points at the current stage of the match. A declared winner wins by “technical decision.” A “technical draw” could also occur if the boxers have the same amount of points at the time of the stoppage.
That should answer most questions, including some of the following, which have come up on this forum:

Quote:
If fighter A scores a knockdown, but fighter B seems to win the rest of the round, is it scored 10-9 in stead of 10-8?
A: No. Fighter B would need to completely dominate the rest of the round to earn 9 points rather than 8. Not just "win the rest of the round."

Q:
Quote:
Is there such a thing as an "even round?"
A: Yes. Although rarely used by professional judges, awarding 10 points to both fighters in an evenly contested round is perfectly legal and acceptable under the rules.

Q:
Quote:
If both fighters are knocked down in the same round, how is the round scored?
A: If each boxer was knocked down once in the same round, the knockdowns are disregarded and the winner of the round receives 10 points, while the loser receives 9 points.

Q:
Quote:
If "Fighter A" scores one knockdown, but "Fighter B" scores 2 knockdowns in the same round, how is the round scored?
A: 10-8 in favor of Fighter B. In terms of scoring, knockdowns cancel each other out. When Fighter A scored one knockdown, the score for this round went from 10-7 to 10-8.

Q:
Quote:
If in a round with no knockdowns a fighter clearly wins the round but is docked a point for a foul, how is the round scored?
A: 9-9. An exception is only applied to the "10-point must" part of the system when the referee calls time and docks a point from a fighter for committing a foul (repeated low blows, intentional head butts, etc...).

Q:
Quote:
Ok, Juicebox... Riddle me this!: What if "Fighter A" clearly dominates the round, and in doing so, scores 2 knockdows in the round and is docked 2 points for intentional fouls, but "Fighter B" scores 3 knockdowns of his own?!
A: That sounds like a realistic round, I'll give it a go. First, deduct the knockdowns. If "Fighter B" scored one more knockdown than "Fighter A," the 4 other knockdowns in the round (2 for each fighter) cancel each other out. But wait, "Fighter B" was "dominated" in the round. I would start the score 10-9 in favor of "Fighter B," and then deduct 2 points from "Fighter A" for the fouls. This round would be scored 10-7 in favor of "Fighter B," although some judges may ignore the subjective concept of "domination" in a round so full of knockdowns and fouls, perhaps scoring it 10-6. Do you have a link to this crazy ass round?

If you have any questions regarding scoring that this guide does not cover, please post it in this thread and I will add it to the original post.

Thanks to Booradly for RTD


Last edited by Juiceboxbiotch; 04-23-2013 at 05:53 PM.
Juiceboxbiotch is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-27-2012, 05:45 PM   #2
Juiceboxbiotch
Belt holder
ESB Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,966
vCash: 372
Default Re: Boxing Scoring FAQ and Discussion

Juiceboxbiotch is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 06:30 PM   #3
puga_ni_nana
Dempsey Roll
East Side VIP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 20,897
vCash: 75
Default Re: Boxing Scoring FAQ and Discussion

the final scenario is either 10-6 or 10-7 to fighter B.
puga_ni_nana is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 06:31 PM   #4
Juiceboxbiotch
Belt holder
ESB Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,966
vCash: 372
Default Re: Boxing Scoring FAQ and Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by puga_ni_nana View Post
the final scenario is either 10-6 or 10-7 to fighter B.

I thought I said that...
Juiceboxbiotch is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 06:37 PM   #5
puga_ni_nana
Dempsey Roll
East Side VIP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 20,897
vCash: 75
Default Re: Boxing Scoring FAQ and Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juiceboxbiotch View Post

I thought I said that...
sorry i was browsing very fast and missed 10-7. nice read though!
puga_ni_nana is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 06:45 PM   #6
Kid Cincinnati
GOOD BOY NATION
ESB Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,021
vCash: 75
Default Re: Boxing Scoring FAQ and Discussion

Thanks, Juice. Any idea why judges don't score even rounds that much? I think it was much more common in the old days.
Kid Cincinnati is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 07:13 PM   #7
themoffster
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 63
vCash: 500
Default Re: Boxing Scoring FAQ and Discussion

What happens if both boxers land a punch at the same time KOing the other?
Is it classed as a draw or a loss for both?
themoffster is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 07:18 PM   #8
purephase
Belt holder
ESB Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,729
vCash: 500
Default Re: Boxing Scoring FAQ and Discussion

Nice post but would have preferred a more extended discussion of the use of CompuBox numbers and facial damage to score fights. Pacquiao fans have convinced me that they're far and away the most important criteria.
purephase is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 07:21 PM   #9
jeffjoiner
Champion
East Side Guru
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Trying to make a dollar
Posts: 9,603
vCash: 5174
Default Re: Boxing Scoring FAQ and Discussion

Nice. Unfortunately, the posters who most need to read this probably won't.

I forget that a round with mutual knockdowns reverts back to 10-9. I was going crazy trying to score round 6 of Ortiz/Berto.
jeffjoiner is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 09:04 PM   #10
booradley
Mean People Kick Ass!
East Side VIP
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19,936
vCash: 622
Default Re: Boxing Scoring FAQ and Discussion

Good job to the OP. There's one thing missing: RTD; referree's technical decision. When the ref calls the fight between rounds, that's actually an RTD, not a TKO, but we hardly ever hear of or use the term.
booradley is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 10:29 PM   #11
Juiceboxbiotch
Belt holder
ESB Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,966
vCash: 372
Default Re: Boxing Scoring FAQ and Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by booradley View Post
Good job to the OP. There's one thing missing: RTD; referree's technical decision. When the ref calls the fight between rounds, that's actually an RTD, not a TKO, but we hardly ever hear of or use the term.
Thanks Boo, fixed.
Juiceboxbiotch is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 10:47 PM   #12
Juiceboxbiotch
Belt holder
ESB Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,966
vCash: 372
Default Re: Boxing Scoring FAQ and Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by themoffster View Post
What happens if both boxers land a punch at the same time KOing the other?
Is it classed as a draw or a loss for both?
It's a good question. I think the closest precedent is the 1995 fight between Prince Charles Williams and Merqui Sosa. Although not a double KO per se, the Ring Dr. ruled between rounds that both fighters were unable to continue... resulting in a technical draw.
Juiceboxbiotch is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 10:55 PM   #13
bremen
Belt holder
ESB Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,241
vCash: 500
Default Re: Boxing Scoring FAQ and Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by booradley View Post
Good job to the OP. There's one thing missing: RTD; referree's technical decision. When the ref calls the fight between rounds, that's actually an RTD, not a TKO, but we hardly ever hear of or use the term.
TD - as in "Technical Decision" - are fairly common.
bremen is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:17 PM   #14
Juiceboxbiotch
Belt holder
ESB Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,966
vCash: 372
Default Re: Boxing Scoring FAQ and Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by bremen View Post
TD - as in "Technical Decision" - are fairly common.
They are 2 different things. A "Referee's Technical Decision" is when the ref feels that one fighter (or both fighters ) cannot continue between rounds. Michael Buffer announces it as a TKO but it goes down officially as an RTD.

That is as opposed to a technical decision when the fight goes to the scorecards before the scheduled amount of rounds transpires. Ie, due to a cut caused by an unintentional headbutt.
Juiceboxbiotch is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 10:50 AM   #15
Juiceboxbiotch
Belt holder
ESB Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,966
vCash: 372
Default Re: Boxing Scoring FAQ and Discussion

Added scoring criteria (Clean punching, effective aggressiveness, etc..) to the original post.
Juiceboxbiotch is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Reply

Boxing News 24 Forum > Boxing > General Boxing Forum

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Boxing News 24 Forum 2013