Boxing  

Forum Home Boxing Forum European British Classic Aussie MMA Training
Go Back   Boxing News 24 Forum > Boxing > General Boxing Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2007, 05:06 PM   #1
hahahax
Journeyman
ESB Jr Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 156
vCash: 1000
Default two different titles from 2 different weight in the same fight?

Let's say Mayweather and Hatton faced at 140 instead of 147...

Could floyd's 147 and hatton's 140 belts both be on the line? i mean, they're below the 147 and 140 limit?
hahahax is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-16-2007, 05:49 PM   #2
Fedor Em
Enforcement, VRWC style
ESB Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: the Wizard
Posts: 2,229
vCash: 1000
Default Re: two different titles from 2 different weight in the same fight?

Good question, and why not? Hank Armstrong held 3 consective titles at once. Ross held more than 1 title at the same time. Just as long as they were defending the 140 lb title and then fighting top level welters within 6 months I don't see the problem.
Fedor Em is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 05:58 PM   #3
GazOC
Guest Star for Team Taff
East Side VIP
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Spion Kop
Posts: 30,805
vCash: 1000
Default Re: two different titles from 2 different weight in the same fight?

In my book yes, as long as either fighter wasn't forced to come in under 140.
GazOC is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 07:40 PM   #4
istmeno
Contender
ESB Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 834
vCash: 1000
Default Re: two different titles from 2 different weight in the same fight?

yes but it would have to be sanctioned as such. as long as BOTH fighters come in under the lowest weight.
the way it used to be in the era when fighters fought non title fights, if both fighters weighed in under the limit, and the champion lost, the title was vacated. but in this era that money runs the game, who knows.
istmeno is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 07:43 PM   #5
thewoo
Belt holder
ESB Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,868
vCash: 950
Default Re: two different titles from 2 different weight in the same fight?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GazOC
In my book yes, as long as either fighter wasn't forced to come in under 140.
Actually I think the exact opposite is true. Both fighters have to come in below 140 or the 140 pound title can not be on the line.
thewoo is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Reply

Boxing News 24 Forum > Boxing > General Boxing Forum

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Boxing News 24 Forum 2013