Boxing  

Forum Home Boxing Forum European British Classic Aussie MMA Training
Go Back   Boxing News 24 Forum > Boxing > Boxing Training/Amateur Boxing

Old 08-01-2009, 11:18 PM   #1
DeckO

vCash: 1000
Default PLEASE HELP! Looking for a good gym in NEW YORK CITY!!

I'm 21, I live in the Bronx, in New York and I'm very serious about becoming a pro. It's been a dream of mine ever since I was a little kid. I've prolonged it long enough and I've spent 3 months looking on the net and driving around to random gyms in the area. My problem is I am a student, so I got absolutely no money. I heard there are free gyms around, but I don't know where to find them. I checked the NY gyms and clubs page, and still nothing........I am willing to travel to westchester, long island, etc. I'm determined in finding a place to get started. Any help here would be appreciated.
DeckO is offline  Top
Sponsored Links
Old 08-01-2009, 11:56 PM   #2
TheRock49
Contender
ESB Senior Member

Default Re: PLEASE HELP! Looking for a good gym in NEW YORK CITY!!

No boxing experience and you are already eager to be a pro... Don't you think you sould make sure you dont cry like a frenchy when you take your first straight to the mouth before you put your eggs in that basket? If the "free" gyms are anything like they were in Milwaukee, be prepared to lose some teeth. You had a pair of gloves per every three guys, little to no protective equipment, and about 60% of the people there, are there due to court orders and the "gloves not guns" thing. Not to be a jerk but with no boxing experience, I would wet your feet first before diving into that college boy.
TheRock49 is offline  Top
Old 08-02-2009, 12:12 AM   #3
DeckO

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRock49 View Post