Forum Home Boxing Forum European British Classic Aussie MMA Training
Go Back   Boxing News 24 Forum > Boxing > Boxing Training/Amateur Boxing

Old 12-22-2009, 09:11 AM   #1
qwert
Belt holder
ESB Addict

vCash: 880
Default Weight Lifting as part of Boxing Training

I've been doing boxing for a couple of months and have truly caught the bug. I've also been weightlifting for a few years, and have found the effect it has on my body has been limiting my performance in boxing. I was wondering if anyone had any advice on how to integrate a weight lifting programme effectively into boxing training.

I generallly hit the gym 3-4 times a week, doing chest and triceps, back and biceps, shoulders, and legs on seperate days. I box on Tuesdays, but was planning to do it on Thursdays aswell.

Any advice would be much appreciated.
qwert is offline  Top
Sponsored Links
Old 12-22-2009, 12:17 PM   #2
BriantheSleeper

vCash: 350
Default Re: Weight Lifting as part of Boxing Training

Weightlifting and Boxing do not really mix, unless you come up with a program designed just for boxing. Weights make your muscles bigger but slower, plus you will need more oxygen to power them making you gas faster. You need to focus on using NATURAL resistance instead of weights to build LEAN muscle mass. I would recommend lots of Pull-ups since you are using your own body weight as resistance. I'm not a trainer so I can't recommend a program for you but this is the method we use at my gym. If you don't want to ditch the weights, I hear Olympic style lifting works well.

That being said. Weights can definitely be incorporated, I'm just not sure of the proper method. We plan to start a weightlifting program within the next few weeks at my gym so Ill let you know what I find out.
BriantheSleeper is offline  Top
Old 12-22-2009, 12:26 PM   #3
BriantheSleeper

Actually the strength & conditioning program listed on the forum is exactly the type of workout you would want. I would recommend trying it out.