Go Back   Boxing News 24 Forum > Boxing > Boxing Training/Amateur Boxing

Old 02-26-2010, 04:17 AM   #1
wordisbond
Contender
ESB Senior Member

vCash: 1000
Default video of me on the heavy bag- constructive criticism welcome

What's up ESB,

I've been self-training for the the past 6 months, and finally decided to put up a video of myself working the heavy bag. I've never been to a boxing gym or worked with a trainer so everything I've learned was from watching film, reading books and message boards, and asking tonnes of questions on this forum.

Certain aspects that I'm trying to improve on are my speed, fluidity, footwork and punch combinations. I also notice that my right heel does not completely touch the ground when throwing the left hook, but that may be because I'm boxing on carpet with bare feet (I don't think I have that problem on solid flooring). So if you can please watch both videos, and provide any constructive criticism, I would very much appreciate it.

Thanks

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wohUmIynlvU[/ame]

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VUUhbI0sQus[/ame]
wordisbond is offline  Top
Sponsored Links
Old 02-26-2010, 09:46 AM   #2
SouthpawSlayer
Im coming for you
East Side Guru

vCash: 75
Default Re: video of me on the heavy bag- constructive criticism welcome

when you dip come back with a shot, the point of dipping is really to counter so dip then come back with a combo, same as when you roll, you rolled then smile at your opponent, bad idea if you roll more than likely your opponent will keep throwing and will catch you after you roll

pretend the bag is going to hit you back, stand at more of a range, keep your guard higher and move on your feet more (i know your space is slightly restricted), vary your combos they all seem to revolve around the jab cross hook, work more on your hand speed it seems lacking