Boxing  

Forum Home Boxing Forum European British Classic Aussie MMA Training
Go Back   Boxing News 24 Forum > Boxing > Boxing Training/Amateur Boxing

Old 03-18-2010, 02:07 AM   #1
cris_000

vCash: 500
Default problem with technique!!!

thanks for taking a look. the problem is my left hand. when i throw punches whether it'd be a jab or hook i unconsciously twist my wrist. i noticed too late after hitting the heavy bag and noticed that i did it while hitting the mitts as well, and now my wrist is messed up. i know its not a fracture because i can move my wrist around and fingers. think its a sprain but then again, im new at this. its been like this almost a week, haven't hit with much power since then with my left hand with the fear of messing it up even more. im right handed, and have not even been boxing for a month.

what i wanna know is if its common to do that with your non-dominant hand when throwing punches? and how do i correct this, so that i don't have to consciously always be checking that my wrist is straight before i throw something? also if theres any way to help speed up the healing process, i'd be all for it! thanks for the input!!
cris_000 is offline  Top
Sponsored Links
Old 03-18-2010, 04:02 AM   #2
wordisbond
Contender
ESB Senior Member

vCash: 1000
Default Re: problem with technique!!!

I was gonna make a joke, but since your new I'm just gonna cool out. Anyways, are you wrapping your wrists correctly?
wordisbond is offline  Top
Old 03-18-2010, 09:44 AM   #3
lefty
Belt holder
ESB Addict

vCash: 1290

You're meant to twist your punch most of the time, it's probably because you lack at this stage the coordination and timing to execute your punches properly. Close your fist completely at the last second and punch with your first two knuckles, that should save you from hurting your wrist.
lefty is offline  Top
Old 03-19-2010, 04:18 PM   #4
cris_000

vCash: 500