Boxing  

Forum Home Boxing Forum European British Classic Aussie MMA Training
Go Back   Boxing News 24 Forum > Boxing > Boxing Training/Amateur Boxing

Old 05-22-2011, 06:10 PM   #1
Pete Tong

vCash: 500
Default Being a coach.

This may seem a sort of strange post to add, but I just wanted to gather some general consensus on an issue that's been bugging me.

I'm 20 years old, and apart from 3 years boxing training when I was younger, I've no real experience as such of competing at a competitive level.

I've had an urge recently to get back into boxing, but not as a boxer as such but as a trainer/coach.

I just wondered, if you guys think that a coach should have a good boxing background behind him or if it's more down to the tutelage etc?
Pete Tong is offline  Top
Sponsored Links
Old 05-22-2011, 06:20 PM   #2
viru§™
Belt holder
ESB Addict

vCash: 1000
Default Re: Being a coach.

I personally think you need a solid background in boxing to be a decent coach. It's the same with being a fitness instructor, for example. You have the awful instructors, the guys that go to college, learn all the bullshit they teach you and pass that on. Then you have the good guys that have been in gyms for years and have a solid foundation of knowledge and experience of what works vs what doesn't.

You can only be taught so much on a learning course. Most of what you teach has to be from experience.
viru§™ is offline  Top
Old 05-22-2011, 06:27 PM   #3
paloalto00
Belt holder
ESB Addict

vCash: 347

Quote:
Originally Posted by viru§™ View Post
I personally think you need a solid background in boxing to be a decent coach. It's the same with being a fitness instructor, for example. You have the awful instructors, the guys that go to college, learn all the bullshit they teach you and pass that on. Then you have the good guys that have been in gyms for years and have a solid foundation of knowledge and experience of what works vs what doesn't.