Boxing  

Forum Home Boxing Forum European British Classic Aussie MMA Training
Go Back   Boxing News 24 Forum > Other > MMA Forum

Old 06-03-2011, 02:38 PM   #1
mmafrank

vCash: 500
Default Why don't MMA fighters train more boxing.

Allow me to introduce myself I am a die-hard MMA fan but watching such boxing based MMA fighters like BJ Penn, Frankie Edgar, Dominick Cruz, Sergi Kharitoniv, Tim Syliva I've come to admire the techniques of boxing and even fell in love with the sport.

I do watch the odd boxing card on some occasions but I'm no expert. Perhaps joining this forum will peak my interest even further.

Watching these kind of fighters made me realize that hey maybe Muay Thai isn't the end all be all of striking and perhaps these MMA guys should visit their local boxing gyms to refine some technique. Some of the MT/kickboxing guys have good hands but for the most part MMA "boxing" is laughable.

No use of the jab, no use of range, no head movement, embarrassing footwork. It's like rock 'em sock' em robots out there swinging overhand rights and haymakers. On numerous occasions I hear so and so went to Thailand to work with MT gurus to prepare for a fight and in that fight they get lit up with basic boxing techniques.

Discuss
mmafrank is offline  Top
Sponsored Links
Old 06-03-2011, 03:05 PM   #2
Stoo
Undisputed Champion
East Side VIP

vCash: 1000
Default Re: Why don't MMA fighters train more boxing.

More of a compromise with the stance, less use of kicks from range and less use of the knees in the clinch tan Muay Thai

Few notable guys are proving that boxing can succede, Frankie, BJ, and GSP likes to use it against Kos and Shields as he's less vunerable to take downs by kicking
Stoo is offline  Top
Old 06-03-2011, 03:06 PM   #3
Stoo
Undisputed Champion
East Side VIP

And quite simply, wrestlers are bigger in the upper torso, making throwing fluid boxing combo's more difficult
Stoo is offline  Top
Old 06-03-2011, 03:43 PM   #4
Anarchy99
Babalu will KILL You!