Boxing  

Forum Home Boxing Forum European British Classic Aussie MMA Training
Go Back   Boxing News 24 Forum > Boxing > British Boxing Forum

Old 07-19-2011, 07:13 PM   #1
rjko23
Belt holder
ESB Addict

vCash: 304
Default just watched the frankie gavin fight!

very close fight with very little consistent punches landed from either fighter. frankie was trying to pull off his silky moves but he couldn't quite manage it. before he could slip a punch and counter he was stopped in his tracks by a good stiff jab.

woodhouse to his credit must of worked on beating gavin to the punch and not giving him time to think. he did look very fit and very game but really is taylor made for someone with gavins ability and style.

im no expert but from what i can tell frankie needs to work on his basic boxing. develop a solid jab and let hand down the middle. instead of ALWAYS looking for clear openings he needs to start throwing combinations more often. too often he was waiting for woodhouse to commit so he could throw the counter uppercut or body shot. by being so unorthordox and technical he's become strangely predictable. he was losing rounds by waiting and waiting then getting tagged.

if he can improve his basics and become more aggresive he has the natural ability to become a very good world champion.
rjko23 is offline  Top
Sponsored Links
Old 07-20-2011, 03:19 AM   #2
dandur55
Gatekeeper
ESB Full Member

vCash: 500
Default Re: just watched the frankie gavin fight!

From what i saw in his last 2 fights Gavin going nowere, EBU is the limit
dandur55 is offline  Top
Old 07-20-2011, 04:20 AM   #3
dftaylor
Writer, fanatic
East Side VIP

Quote:
Originally Posted by dandur55 View Post
From what i saw in his last 2 fights Gavin going nowere, EBU is the limit
He looks a little unmotivated right now, but the above is ludicrous. He's massively talented. Definite world-level defence, just needs to work more consistently.
dftaylor is offline  Top
Old 07-20-2011, 05:07 AM   #4
tjf81