Boxing  

Forum Home Boxing Forum European British Classic Aussie MMA Training
Go Back   Boxing News 24 Forum > Boxing > Boxing Training/Amateur Boxing

Old 02-04-2012, 08:10 PM   #1
dency45

vCash: 500
Default Do Boxers lift weight?

I'm a boxer beginner, i do lift weight regularly and i box once a week. i read in this website that weights will just slow you down but it gives you power so just do explosive exercise for speed and power.

[Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
dency45 is offline  Top
Sponsored Links
Old 02-04-2012, 08:22 PM   #2
Primate
Belt holder
ESB Addict

Default Re: Do Boxers lift weight?

yes.
Primate is offline  Top
Old 02-04-2012, 08:27 PM   #3
viru§™
Belt holder
ESB Addict

vCash: 1000

Quote:
Stay Away From Weights – Trying to bench press to build your power punch is like lifting leg weights to break the sprint record.
Spoken like a true clueless person. The people that have a clue don't claim bench press increases punching power.

Quote:
Although there are many conflicting articles out there that argue back and forth between whether or not lifting weights will aid your punch, the science is quite simple: when you lift weights, your body is becoming stronger at moving slow (punching is a fast movement).
Utter bullshit.

Quote:
Not only that, but training with weights will only make you noticeably stronger within a limited range of motion.
Again, bullshit. The range of motion used is down to the weight lifter.

Quote:
Your body will also be building unnatural muscle that will tire much faster than your regular muscle.
You don't have to build muscle to get stronger and lifting weights doesn't magically make you put on weight.

Again, bullshit.

Quote:
If building truly powerful and effective muscle was possible, a great middleweight boxer could easily be a great heavyweight boxer, right?
"If building truly powerful and effective muscle was possible" Since when is it not possible?