Go Back   Boxing News 24 Forum > Boxing > Boxing Training/Amateur Boxing

Old 07-01-2012, 11:50 AM   #1
jyuza
Contender
ESB Senior Member

vCash: 1000
Default Training advice for kids session

Hello,

Season is over down here and we are already working out to prepare the next one coming up in couple of months.
I am also a trainer and I am looking for fresh advices and ideas of training session for 7 to 13 years old kids (with half competing). For obvious reasons we don't do much muscle practice and our sessions are based on different scheduled themes.
So let's hear it my fellow trainers/coach. What tips can you give .

Have a nice day.
jyuza is offline  Top
Sponsored Links
Old 07-01-2012, 12:52 PM   #2
Matt Ldn
Belt holder
ESB Addict

vCash: 1885
Default Re: Training advice for kids session

One thing I'm really big on is a defense drill where one fighter is purely on the defensive whilst the other throws shots a them at 50% power with the focus on speed, accuracy, timing and good form. Perhaps to stop one guy trying to bully another give a number of shots they should throw over the period to ie. 20-30 per minute or whatever you feel is reasonable. This gives one lad a chance to practice his shots against a moving actual opponent without worrying about getting hit back so can try new things and the other a chance to work just on their defense without getting clouted or whatever if they should **** up.

on the heavy bag spend 1 min practising quick long straight shots then moving out, 1min on combinations and 1 min just plant the feet and punch out as fast as they can. You can mix it up spending a minute on big power shots, specific combinations, etc.

Hope these are the kind of thigns you are looking for.
Matt Ldn is offline  Top
Old 07-01-2012, 12:55 PM   #3
123ko
Gatekeeper
ESB Full Member

vCash: 500

we use a floor ladder step-in ,step-out etc
123ko is offline  Top
Old 07-01-2012, 01:49 PM   #4
greynotsoold
Contender
ESB Senior Member