Boxing  

Forum Home Boxing Forum European British Classic Aussie MMA Training
Go Back   Boxing News 24 Forum > Boxing > General Boxing Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2012, 04:34 PM   #1
klion22
Undisputed Champion
East Side VIP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,403
vCash: 7230
Default What happens when you win a belt?

Say a fighter wins the WBC belt and loses the belt in his next fight. Does he get to keep it or does he have to give it up? I see Floyd show off his many WBC title belts that he won over his career and he clearly vacated most of them in the lower weights but he still has them.

Can someone clarify?
klion22 is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-24-2012, 04:35 PM   #2
jeffjoiner
Champion
East Side Guru
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Trying to make a dollar
Posts: 9,604
vCash: 5174
Default Re: What happens when you win a belt?

Fighters are allowed to purchase a replica of the belt. They can keep their copy.
jeffjoiner is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 04:37 PM   #3
klion22
Undisputed Champion
East Side VIP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,403
vCash: 7230
Default Re: What happens when you win a belt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffjoiner View Post
Fighters are allowed to purchase a replica of the belt. They can keep their copy.
How much do they charge? Are there fighters who decline to buy it due to the high cost?
klion22 is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 04:39 PM   #4
jeffjoiner
Champion
East Side Guru
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Trying to make a dollar
Posts: 9,604
vCash: 5174
Default Re: What happens when you win a belt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by klion22 View Post
How much do they charge? Are there fighters who decline to buy it due to the high cost?
I have no idea how much they cost. I do know that you can buy some in pawn shops around Las Vegas; that show Pawn Stars shows about 4-5 in their case.
jeffjoiner is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 04:39 PM   #5
Pimp C
I Ain't Got No Worries
East Side VIP
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 33,535
vCash: 138
Default Re: What happens when you win a belt?

They get to keep the belt that they won when they lose or vacate if they pay for it.
Pimp C is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 04:42 PM   #6
klion22
Undisputed Champion
East Side VIP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,403
vCash: 7230
Default Re: What happens when you win a belt?

So i wonder how much each major sanctioning body charges and if there have been cases where the fighter declined to pay the fee.
klion22 is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 04:43 PM   #7
Pimp C
I Ain't Got No Worries
East Side VIP
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 33,535
vCash: 138
Default Re: What happens when you win a belt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by klion22 View Post
So i wonder how much each major sanctioning body charges and if there have been cases where the fighter declined to pay the fee.
Probably but it's probably already written into the contract that in a title fight you have to pay. Sanctioning fees and such.
Pimp C is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:17 PM   #8
Rob
Contender
ESB Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,010
vCash: 160000
Default Re: What happens when you win a belt?

Always wondered about this topic too. It's not discussed much.
Rob is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:33 PM   #9
fenom969605
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 84
vCash: 500
Default Re: What happens when you win a belt?

I heard that if you win the championship you give it back to the fighter you won it from and the sanctioning body then sends you your championship belt. I guess if you lose you still keep it but your not considered the champion anymore
fenom969605 is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:46 PM   #10
oldman287
newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Columbus, GA. United States
Posts: 33
vCash: 500
Default Re: What happens when you win a belt?

the sanctioning fees for the major titles are to cover operating costs, judges, referees, insurance, misc....and belt.
if a new champion is crowned a new belt is suppose to be on hand and presented to the new champ and the old champ keeps his/her belt -
it has recently become a publicity gimic of presenting the new champ his/her belt by the President of the sanctioning organization at a press conference - and the old belt being sent to the former champ
oldman287 is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:58 PM   #11
D4thincarnation
Contender
ESB Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,259
vCash: 500
Default Re: What happens when you win a belt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by klion22 View Post
Say a fighter wins the WBC belt and loses the belt in his next fight. Does he get to keep it or does he have to give it up? I see Floyd show off his many WBC title belts that he won over his career and he clearly vacated most of them in the lower weights but he still has them.

Can someone clarify?
They Keep it, and the organisation make a new one for the new champ.
D4thincarnation is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:59 PM   #12
KidDynamite
Contender
ESB Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,318
vCash: 500
Default Re: What happens when you win a belt?

so Riddick Bowe threw his belt away for no reason?

LOL
KidDynamite is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 07:04 PM   #13
D4thincarnation
Contender
ESB Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,259
vCash: 500
Default Re: What happens when you win a belt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KidDynamite View Post
so Riddick Bowe threw his belt away for no reason?

LOL
Think it was ceremonial, confirming that he was a ducker.



Your really think Valuev and Haye are the same waist size?
D4thincarnation is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 07:19 PM   #14
iceman71
WBC SILVER Champion
East Side VIP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: the DIRTY SOUTH
Posts: 22,880
vCash: 1000
Default Re: What happens when you win a belt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldman287 View Post
the sanctioning fees for the major titles are to cover operating costs, judges, referees, insurance, misc....and belt.
if a new champion is crowned a new belt is suppose to be on hand and presented to the new champ and the old champ keeps his/her belt -
it has recently become a publicity gimic of presenting the new champ his/her belt by the President of the sanctioning organization at a press conference - and the old belt being sent to the former champ
thats why they all are all scammers. if what you said is true, what bills do they pay on their own?
what kind of operating costs do they have? a piece of paper and pencil to rank boxers from 1 to 15? and what kind of insurance are you referring to? and really dont think they foot the bill for refs and judges either
iceman71 is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 07:41 PM   #15
dan4579
Gatekeeper
ESB Full Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 333
vCash: 500
Default Re: What happens when you win a belt?

When you win a belt, everybody around you starts kissing your ass and calling you "champ". I was under the impression that when you win a belt, you usually take the other fighters belt out of the ring and home with you. When you get your new one that fits and everything, you send the defeated champ his belt back. I remember Rahman was very annoyed that Lewis wouldnt send him his back for years. He was threatening to sue. Not sure if he ever did get it back, but I would assume that he did.
dan4579 is offline  Top
Reply With Quote
Reply

Boxing News 24 Forum > Boxing > General Boxing Forum

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Boxing News 24 Forum 2013