Go Back   Boxing News 24 Forum > Other > MMA Forum

Old 02-14-2008, 09:06 AM   #1
Donut62
Contender
ESB Senior Member

vCash: 1000
Default Goodbye, Sweet Igor

Quote:
February,8, Kharkiv, Ukraine. The finals of the Chest Voina (Warrior's Honor) Tournament.

Bogdan Khmelnitskiy had an opportunity to catch up with legendary Ukrainian fighter Igor Vovchanchyn. Bogdan asked Igor some pretty interesting questions. Unfortunately the interview is not exhaustive but nevertheless:

Bogdan Khmelnitskiy: Tell me about your schooldays. Did you fight a lot back in the days? When did you start training?

Igor Vovchanchyn: I studied well. Fought a lot, I had beaten everybody back then. Basically, I was a bully (smiles). At school I used to train in athletics. I had trained there for 5 years and I ran faster than anybody. Later on I was invited to box, I used to train there under Oleg Ermakov. Only then someone approached me asking to go train in kickboxing. They looked for a guy of my size so I agreed.

Bogdan Khmelnitskiy: At "Warrior's Honor" long time ago you got caught with a submission by Andrey Besedin but soon enough during the World Championship in Moscow in 1995 you impressed everyone with a good submission defense. Tell us about your training regimen. How much did your training differ when you just started training from the moment you took part in Pride events?

Igor Vovchanchyn: Well, I came to wrestle with Subbotin straight away after that loss. I spent 1,5 - 2 hours on wrestling. That's how I learned it. Of course, the training was different. I payed more attention to other disciplines beside striking. I trained twice a day: striking technique and running in te morning, wrestling and striking in the evening.

Bogdan Khmelnitskiy: What do you do for living now? If you are asked to return back in action, will you agree?