Accidental Headclash Rule

Discussion in 'British Boxing Forum' started by Beeston Brawler, Jan 11, 2009.

  1. Beeston Brawler

    Beeston Brawler Comical Ali-egedly Full Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    46,399
    Likes Received:
    15
    I have been thinking about this one for a while......

    Does the rest of the Brit forum feel it is time that the accidental headclash rule, as used in America and elsewhere, ought to be brought into British fights?

    I consider it exceptionally unfair that a guy could be headbutted, opening up a bad cut and lose by TKO.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. brown bomber

    brown bomber 2010 Poster of the Year Full Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    30,856
    Likes Received:
    17
    I agree...it makes no sense.
     
  3. Beeston Brawler

    Beeston Brawler Comical Ali-egedly Full Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    46,399
    Likes Received:
    15
    Obviously the other side, was seen in the Judah vs Clottey fight - where Judah made a calculated decision to quit and hoped the scores would be in his favour......
     
  4. GazOC

    GazOC Guest Star for Team Taff Full Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    61,460
    Likes Received:
    37
    I agree it should be brought in but I don't like weird rule where the clash is considered accidental (ie. neither fighters fault) but the guy without the cut gets docked a point.
     
  5. TBooze

    TBooze Obsessed with Boxing Full Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    25,495
    Likes Received:
    2,148

    Do not change what is not broken, ask Lloyd Honeyghan, who got stitched up with the change, and lost his World Championship and undefeated record.

    A fighter who is cut by an accidental butt simply has to deal with it, and if that means he loses by TKO so be it. If he is so hard done by, the chances are he gets a rematch and another pay day, so everyone wins....

    If a fighter is cut and the fight needs to be stopped due to a deliberate butt, then the ref needs to dq the offender, there is no need to change a rule that has worked well for a couple of hundred years.
     
  6. Beeston Brawler

    Beeston Brawler Comical Ali-egedly Full Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    46,399
    Likes Received:
    15
    You mis-understand the question....

    I said accidental headclash.

    Losing by KO because of an accidental (sometimes deliberate) headclash is wrong.
     
  7. TBooze

    TBooze Obsessed with Boxing Full Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    25,495
    Likes Received:
    2,148
    I understood the question, just made a silly error in my reply, which I have now edited.:oops: