Abraham knockdown in the 10th? *GIF* you be the judge

Discussion in 'World Boxing Forum' started by PH|LLA, Mar 28, 2010.


  1. rayhogan

    rayhogan Dont worry Pac, you wont Full Member

    22,780
    350
    Aug 26, 2006
    Did the gloves touch Abraham at anyway that send Abraham to the ropes? You say it was a push but dude, look at that gif picture, regardless of what you say, the gloves did touch after a swing. <<<<How is that not a knockdown?
     
  2. Kevin

    Kevin Active Member Full Member

    520
    0
    Apr 13, 2008
    No its not. Its clearly a drag down by forearm. Dirrell schooled him and easily would have won the fight regardless of that or the Dq but that was not a kd.
     
  3. rayhogan

    rayhogan Dont worry Pac, you wont Full Member

    22,780
    350
    Aug 26, 2006
    Did the gloves touch Abraham after a swing? Yes or no. If it's a yes then it's a knockdown. If it was just a foream that the gloves didn't touch then it's not a knockdown but the gif shows the gloves did touch on the side of the neck of Abraham in which should be called a knockdown.
     
  4. Cobbler

    Cobbler Shoemaker To The Stars Full Member

    19,216
    2
    Dec 10, 2005
    So your argument is that if any part of the glove touches the opponent a legal punch has been landed?
     
  5. Kevin

    Kevin Active Member Full Member

    520
    0
    Apr 13, 2008

    You cant pull a fighter down. It makes no difference whether a part of the glove touches him in the process.
     
  6. PH|LLA

    PH|LLA VIP Member Full Member

    79,438
    2,646
    Feb 1, 2007
    its too obvious to even debate.
     
  7. rayhogan

    rayhogan Dont worry Pac, you wont Full Member

    22,780
    350
    Aug 26, 2006
    Did it swing before the gloves touch Abraham that send him to the ropes? It's a knockdown. Dirrell gloves did touch Abraham on the side of the neck that put Abraham on the ropes. When Jones knockdown Calzaghe, it was from a forearm in which no gloves didn't touch Calzaghe so it clearly shouldn't been called a knockdown.
     
  8. MancMexican

    MancMexican Blood & Guts Forever Full Member

    5,152
    0
    Apr 23, 2006
    For once ESB gets it right. Clear KD.
     
  9. rayhogan

    rayhogan Dont worry Pac, you wont Full Member

    22,780
    350
    Aug 26, 2006
    Did it swing first before the gloves touch Abraham on the side of the neck? It clearly look like a counter left hook that nail on the right side of Abraham neck that send Abraham to the ropes.
     
  10. Brickhaus

    Brickhaus Packs the house Full Member

    22,296
    5
    Mar 14, 2007
    It was pretty clearly a knockdown. Their feet were tied up a bit, but the punch caused the knockdown, not the feet.

    Then again, Dirrell scored a clear knockdown earlier in the fight that wasn't called either.

    Laurence Cole just sucks. The only thing he got right was calling the DQ, and even that took him forever to make the decision.
     
  11. Cobbler

    Cobbler Shoemaker To The Stars Full Member

    19,216
    2
    Dec 10, 2005
    Not an answer to my question. Or at least not one I understand.

    Most people think that a legal punch has to be with the knuckle area of a closed fist. Apparantly you think different and think that any contact with any part of the glove equates to a legal shot? Correct?
     
  12. Kevin

    Kevin Active Member Full Member

    520
    0
    Apr 13, 2008
    What happened once the wrist touched his neck? Its the first cousin of holding behind the head. I will say though that had the ropes not been their Cole would have called it a kd rightly or wrongly.
     
  13. MichiganWarrior

    MichiganWarrior Still Slick! Still Black! Full Member

    26,793
    7
    Mar 20, 2010
    Does it? If its not any part of the glove and only the top part, then you could put down NC for every single on of CAlzaghe's fights. :yep
     
  14. walk with me

    walk with me Obsessed with Boxing Full Member

    21,066
    47
    Nov 17, 2007
    if you look at the over head view of this kd...

    it is clear that the front of AA's foot (middle of foot to toe) gets caught up on dirrell's heel..

    the physics also match when dirrell steps back with his left foot his right foot remains trapped behind AA's foot.... it was a great call by the ref... maybe lucky but it was the right call.
     
  15. Cobbler

    Cobbler Shoemaker To The Stars Full Member

    19,216
    2
    Dec 10, 2005
    Many of Calzaghe's opponents used to make that exact point...

    Are you actually asking btw? With the number of people in this thread who don't understand the basic definition of a legal punch, it's hard to be sure...