Beating a jabber.

Discussion in 'Boxing Training' started by VG_Addict, Sep 28, 2015.

1. VG_Addict

VG_Addict Obsessed with Boxing Full Member

Jun 13, 2012
    Say you're fighting a guy with a great jab. What do you do to beat him?

2. AHussain

AHussain Member Full Member

Dec 24, 2014
    I am not a expert IMO best way would be to get inside dodge and weave and counter is best for jabbers. Jabbers like to keep distance so best thing is to close the distance and get close

3. Console Command

Console Command Well-Known Member Full Member

Jul 27, 2014
    out-jab him or get Inside and stick on him, if he can't get distance he won't be able to be effective with his jab.

4. James Townes

James Townes Member Full Member

Aug 11, 2015
    If you just saw the Golovkin vs Lemieux fight.. you saw a left jab control the fight... most boxing gurus say you have to jab with a jabber... you might not out jab him, but you will disrupt his timing, also, using your righthand to deflect the left jab then counter quickly, move and change distance and angles ... Not like Lemieux, who just walked straight into it ... When you watch the fight, watch the footwork of Golovkin, how he controls the centerline, and how Lemieux is moving his feet looking to set, he was doing unnecessary foot bouncing and pattering, he never could set ... while Golovkin would slide then step, not bouncing. No matter how hard a puncher you are, no matter how many knockouts you have, you have to understand that boxing is a science, not an alley fight... that's what happened to Lemieux... He he had no answer... Golovkin leaves opening, but you got to jab back once and awhile...change to southpaw, step on his toes, bull him, make it a brawl if you have to.. but don't just keep walking in:bbbto the jab...

rodney likes this.
  5. Mendoza

Mendoza Hrgovic = Next Heavyweight champion of the world. banned Full Member

Jun 29, 2007