Been training for 6 months

Discussion in 'Training Logs' started by GeorgeTatnell, Mar 2, 2014.

1. GeorgeTatnell

GeorgeTatnell New Member Full Member

Dec 18, 2013
    Hi, I've been training for about 6 months, I'm 22 in a couple of weeks and when I began training I had just quit smoking and also no longer drink alcohol. I wanted to box when I was younger but used to get out of my face a bit to often and I suppose I felt that I was too far gone.

Anyway, so I started running about 1.5 miles maybe once or twice a week, the first time I attempted this I was nearly sick, and I'm not sure I made the full run without slowing to almost walking pace (sort of, walking actually). I was about 15 stone at the time. I actually found this website and took the beginner's routine that is pinned in the training section of the forum and stuck with that for about 2 months.

I started going to the beginners boxing session at a local club, the first couple times this really ruined me and I was worried I wouldn't be able to gain enough stamina.

I kept at it, I managed to build my motivation high enough and began extending my runs, from 1.5 to 2 and so on, now I am going for 7 - 10 mile and am surprised how easy its become.

If I've been running a lot, I incorporate some swimming although I seem to last longer on my feet than I do in the pool (might be because I can hear the jacuzzi and sauna calling me)

I've been going to my local club for about 5 and a half months and the beginners session has actually began to feel a bit too easy, I've now mustered up the courage to ask to go an extra day which is the day the carded fighters train, which means sparring begins.

So now this is how my routine will look:

Monday - Rest day, mental conditioning, maybe some yoga (I heard this can help fighters a great deal so I'm gonna try it), bit of shadow boxing but not a lot.
    Tuesday - Training with club so will probably be circuit training, shadowboxing, heavy bag and sparring.