No... you are wrong. If the IBF rules states that a fighter only needs to beat the count at the end of the 12th and final round, then that's that. Bute did exactly that.
Repeating something a million times doesn't make it relevant or true - though some clearly believe otherwise. I agree that before ten seconds elapsed Bute was not lying down on the mat. That does not mean he beat the count. Whether he was standing is debatable - he was supported by having his back on the corner post and hands up on the ropes (at least initially). Crucially, irrespective of whether you classify that as standing, he was not fit to continue - which is a pre-condition for 'beating the count'. Accordingly, the title of this thread is misleading at best.
So two posts down the road it's already a fact :huh Link to the relevant rule rather than repeat what 'other people' said in 'other places'.
http://www.ibf-usba-boxing.com/userfiles/File/Uniform%20Championship%20Rules%20-%20September%202006.pdf 10. A boxer who has been knocked down cannot be saved by the bell in any round.
Also about beating the count "Easily", that's bull****. He got up and was all over the place even after getting up, that's hardly beating the count easily.
Thats true. This is the rule from the IBF site. The bell will not save a boxer in any round of the bout.If a boxer is "downed" just before the 3-minute bell in any round, the referee's count shall continue and the bell will not ring until the boxer rises and his hands clear the floor. Bute did that.
So it was a robbery when the ref stopped the fight against Taylor under very similar conditions, but this time it's a robbery the other way around when they don't stop the fight? Make up your ****ing minds people.
He was still struggling to get upright at 8, being fully up just before 9, and not being ready to fight by 10. He beat the count in the sense that he was vertical by the 10th second. Its one thing being vertical (like he was before the KD, and he certainly wasn't in a state to continue then), but its another thing being fit to continue.
Ok. I buy that. The referee decided he was fit to continue, so fit he was. So technically, no rules were broken... In some sense, however, any ref could use his powers to stop any fight in the first second and hand one of the fighters a victory (by declaring the other one unfit). That would also be 'technically' ok. Clearly, the bigger question therefore is whether the referee's decision was correct. And I dont' think we disagree on this one, right?