Could he and his team be lame and cynical enough to appeal the result due to Hearn's overzealousness? If so, would common sense prevail and the fact that the ref waved the fight off before deciding to give a standing count see such an appeal tossed out as the ridiculous fancy it would be?
If they do, he won't have any credibility, I don't think IBF will, ref in the wrong - no standing 8 count in IBF rules.
Ref waived both hands up which I would think to anyone would be a sign of stopping the fight. It looked more like the ref changed his mind, made the mistake of waiving both hands up instead of breaking Froch apart, etc. If there was confusion, blame the ref. He should have just gotten into the middle of both fighters but not raised his hands up which tends to be a sign of giving up/waiving it off. Although, maybe "waiving it off" is different than raising his hands up. I don't know. One to break and the other to call off a fight??? Either way, I wouldn't over-turn it because it was a dominant performance from Froch and the confusion came from the ref. However, they need to make some type of rule where there has to be a moment of grace period when a fight is stopped. But more for cautionary reasons. For instance, when a fighter is knocked out, the attention should be placed on the fighter getting help and in order to do that, there needs to be room for anyone that needs to get in the ring to provide that help. Although I know its a little tough given the excitement and adrenaline that runs through the Winning side.
Good post. Agreed on all fronts. I thought he had waved it off. The he was sending Froch to a neutral corner. I didn't get why. It wasn't as bad as whoever the announcer was for EPIX insisting that the ref waved the fight over at the end of 2nd round.
The ref didn't stop the fight - he didn't cross his hands over (I don't think). I think Bute could technically appeal. It wasn't a standing eight; it was a knockdown.
Technically yes. Froch could have been disqualified. But given the way the fight unfolded, and given that But's man was on his way to stop the count, and given that Bute applauded the announcement of Froch's win, there will be no such mickey-mouse appeals.
According to the Sky lads, under IBF rules if your second climbs on the ring during the round then it's a disqualification and Bute's seconds climbed up before Eddie Hearn did his thing. So if it were changed to a DQ it would be Bute that was the one in the wrong. Anyway what would they do, order a rematch when there's already one in the contract?
To be fair, the Sky Sports commentator made the same mistake. It was the bell ringing at the end of the round.
Butes team were very classy and dignified in defeat, said they though the ref should have possibly stopped it sooner. Respect to Lucian for stepping into the lions den to defend his belt against a ****ing animal like Froch. On a potential rematch in Montreal the Bute team guy said 'first and foremost we need to think about Lucians health'. FROCH A MOTHER****ING OG