It's going to take a rematch for people to shut up. I don't think they even understand what happened. You know.. dumb americans and all.:rofl
no the referee made error after error, he was out on his feet before he even got knocked down. fight should have stopped, then he should have been counted out. he got knocked out. i was at the bell centre and was very impressed by his fan support and the electric atmosphere in the building
Yeah,whatever,I want the rematch bad just to shut these jokers up.I can only guess how much Bute wants the rematch or even Andrade for that matter.Bute would beat him onthe moon
It was a big fight,Bute was clearly up on points,he was the champ,there is no way he gets stopped before even going down.How can he be counted out when he beat the count?That is crazy
"Cannot be saved by the bell in any round!" Roy Jones Jr. beat the count in the Tarver fight (was up at 9), still it was over. Maccarinelli beat the count in the Haye fight, the ref still stopped it. This rule is not about beating the count, it's just part of it. In every 3rd TKO, the fighters beat the count, and the ref still determinates that the fighter is in no condition to continue, therefore stopping it despite the fighter is up (but NOT OKAY). In this case, when you give your mandatory 8 count (normal referee's time), our fighter was up but IN NO CONDITION TO CONTINUE. You cannot be saved by the bell, therefore the TIME KEEPER simply can't ring the bell before the ref makes his call whether to stop it or not. Our hometown ref didn't even check our figther whether he was okay or not! It was a huge mistake! Our fighter was out on his feet, not matter that only 0,0000001 seconds was left, he was no contition for the ref to say - OKAY, FIGHT! But our ref's rule was to let the fighter back into the fight for that short period of time, and it was wrong. Since you cannot be saved by the bell, and since our fighter was out, it should have been stopped and declared as a TKO win for the opponent. It doesn't really matter that the opponent was robbed of a few seconds or not, that has NOTHING to do with the fact that our fighter was completely out. IN UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES a qualified and officially elected professional referee can give a go for a fighter who is badly hurt. There are really no differents sides of this story. The rule is simple, and you can read here: http://www.ibf-usba-boxing.com/userfiles/File/Uniform%20Championship%20Rules%20-%20September%202006.pdf You cannot be saved by the bell, and no matter what, the ref's judgement comes FIRST in this special situation, the bell rings AFTER THAT. Special situation, but that's why we have this rule for Crissakes!!!. The controversy here is that the ref knew that if he lets our fighter go, the time keeper rings the bell. An example: if it was only just a flash knockdown, our fighter would've jumped up, and let the ref know he wants to continue. Neither our fighter showed any sign, nor the ref checked his condition, simply decided to save the fight for the fighter. It is very clear. Taylor wasn't THAT badly hurt in the Chavez fight, and still the right call was made. This is my last view on the fight, props to the fighters, but a rematch the opponent deserves won't take away the bad judgement.
i agree bute was clearly up on points, not even close but i also think the referee did not do an accurate count and gave him WAY more than 10 seconds
But you're missing the point. Once more: Bute was up way before 10 and the fight ended while he was getting up. So...He beat the count. I doesn't matter if the ref stopped to scold Andrade, counted 6 twice, ordered and ate a pizza or took out a second mortgage -- Bute beat the actual count of ten and the fight ended. Please read this before saying, "yea, but..."
Except that in this case Bute wasn't saved by the bell. He couldn't have been because the bell only rings the moment he beats the count. (In this case, it should have rang 6 seconds after the end of three minute period, the very moment Bute beat the count, having raised himself, his hands clear of the floor). He doesn't need to be able to continue either, but just to beat the count, since there is nothing for him to continue. The moment he beats the count, the round is over, and since it is the final round, it's the end of the fight. 6. The bell will not save a boxer in any round of the bout. If a boxer is "downed" just before the 3-minute bell in any round, the referee's count shall continue and the bell will not ring until the boxer rises and his hands clear the floor. http://www.ibf-usba-boxing.com/userfiles/File/IBF-USBA%20Bout%20Rules.pdf Being saved by the bell would have meant that were it not for the bell, the referee would have continued counting and Bute would have been counted out. Bute wasn't counted out. He beat the count before 8! In the two examples you gave, the fighters were deemed incapable of continuing by the referee. The moment Bute beat the count, there was nothing for him to continue because the twelfth and final round was over, so that was that; he needn't have been capable of continuing. It goes to the scorecards. Some people more clever than myself have explained it all nicely in this thread, if you care to have a look. http://www.eastsideboxing.com/forum/showthread.php?t=98970&page=7 :good
Wrong Decebal, sorry bro. WATCH VIDEO, then check back here. -Ref counts, 20 seconds, okay, NO BELL YET, time keeper still has to wait, Bute is still not responding -Ref fails to check the condition of Bute, instead immidiately cleans his hands, NO BELL YET, time keeper still has to wait, Bute is still not responding -Ref says 'okay' or something (WRONG, he was not okay!), and NOW the time keeper can ring the bell -he rang the bell, it was over, go to the scorecards -... -several seconds later Bute is still not okay Dec, Please understand this. The time keeper simply can't ring the bell before the ref determinates if Bute can go out or not because you cannot be saved by the bell. That's the rule. The ref shouldn't even know if there's time left! (but our ref knew). So he said: 'okay' or something (= 'fight'). But Bute was not okay to determinate 'fight'. Another example: now you know the time keeper can't ring the bell until the ref decides what to do, wave it off or say: 'fight'. So the ref still could've asked 20 questions from Bute and the time keeper still couldn't ring the bell! The proper order is the following, and this is the only way: 1) mandatory 8 count (he can still stop it in the middle of the count) 2) check fighter if he's okay. If not, determinate it's over, if IF OKAY (Bute was not), 3) clean fighter's hands 4) step away and let the fight go on with a 'fight' command 5) NOW the time keeper can ring it... The fight should've been stopped in the 2) process... but THERE WAS NO 2) IN THIS FIGHT!
Wrong. Read the IBF rules again. They don't make a bang 10 seconds before the bell for nothing. You dn't have to be in condition to continue the fight. You just have to get up, without touching the mat with your hands. The ref was wrong, because he should have let the timekeeper ring the bell plenty of seconds earlier.