Complete beginners guide to a boxing routine

Discussion in 'Boxing Training' started by Relentless, Jun 17, 2007.

1. Relentless

Relentless VIP Member banned

Mar 5, 2006
    I noticed a lot of people are looking for the same things here, so here is a beginner's [url]boxing[/url] routine that will basically cover everything someone needs to do to get involved in the sport from training to nutrition. It's a lot, so I'm going to be as brief as possible, but I also want to be semi-complete. I question the value of one line answers to a lot of the questions I've seen.

First, realize that if you ever want to compete and be good at it, you are going to have to have a real coach/trainer impart their incredible wisdom. You can't learn everything from books and the internet, although with video coaching and innovative ideas, it is easier to get feedback when you are training by yourself. At any rate, at some point, plan on spending some of your paper route dollars to invest in yourselves.

Okay, on to the good stuff.

First, an overview:

1. Conditioning - is the be all and end all. If you can't last 3 minutes in the ring and can't recover in 1 minute afterwards, you have no business being there. Boxing is the ultimate workout as it covers everything - strength training, agility, aerobic capacity, anaerobic capacity, speed, and power. As such you have to train everything in a logical and well planned way - and believe it or not, it means getting enough rest as well.

Needless to say, it is a lifestyle (I learned that from Dr. Phil :good)