Help with sore hands

Discussion in 'Boxing Training' started by Joeybags73, Mar 21, 2011.

1. Joeybags73

Joeybags73 New Member Full Member

Mar 17, 2011
    Hi all,
    I'm new to boxing and have only been training for 2 months. I joined a gym that's run by a former amateur boxer. It's not like a real boxing gym but that's ok because right now I'm just working to build my conditioning. The gym holds classes where most of what we do is heavy bag work. I would attend class about 1 or 2 times per week but recently my hands, wrists, and fingers have been sore for over a week. This is the first time they've been like this since I started. I'm also weight lifting so maybe its a combination of heavy bag work and lifting that's causing problems. I understand that soreness would be normal for a beginner but I'm concerned it could be a poor hand wrapping job and poor gloves. One of the trainers at the gym gave me a 30 second lesson on hand wrapping but it certainly was not enough. Instead, I found a YouTube video where ****** Fortune shows how to wrap hands, including between each knuckle. Seems to be working for me. But then I read that beginners should not use heavy bag gloves but go for 14 to 16 oz boxing gloves until the hands get used to the pounding. I actually bought a pair of Title heavy bag gloves from the gym. But then I read that Title is junk and that a brand like Ringside would be the best.

The people at the gym don't really have the time to instruct us on an individual basis. In fact, we're more thrown to the wolves and just given boxing combos to work on the bag. I feel like I'm injuring myself needlessly because my hands, while they are getting better, still feel sore. I need some advice on what to do so that I don't keep messing up my hands.

I'm open to suggestions.

Thanks,
    Joe

2. Liston

Liston New Member Full Member

Oct 5, 2010