If a punch lands on the arms or gloves and you go to the canvas should it be a knockdown?

Discussion in 'World Boxing Forum' started by Devon, Jan 26, 2021.

  1. Devon

    Devon Well-Known Member Full Member

    1,870
    1,342
    Dec 31, 2018
    Different referees will see this differently to others, but there is no rule saying it should or shouldn’t be counted
    What are your thoughts?
     
  2. MidniteProwler

    MidniteProwler Fab 4 Full Member

    14,018
    5,613
    Sep 19, 2012
    Yes that is and should always be a knockdown.
     
  3. boxfap

    boxfap MasterGardianElite Full Member

    865
    376
    Aug 2, 2014
    If a punch causes a knockdown then it should be counted as a knockdown wherever it lands as long as the punch is legal

    Is this a controversial opinion? I thought pretty much everyone agreed on this
     
  4. Hanz Cholo

    Hanz Cholo Boxing Addict Full Member

    3,000
    1,284
    Jul 11, 2012
    If you go down at the end of a punch,

    unless that punch is a foul.
    It is a technical knockdown.
     
    Bogotazo and C.J. like this.
  5. KidDynamite

    KidDynamite Boxing Addict Full Member

    3,447
    901
    Sep 16, 2012
    Yes that's a knockdown

    Any legal punch that results in a knock down is a knockdown

    Unless there's a slip or trip or illegal punch/strike involved
     
    Bogotazo likes this.
  6. Mr.Noob

    Mr.Noob Member Full Member

    138
    59
    Sep 3, 2020
    I will have to call this a knockdown Devon. The reason being is because whenever you hit canvas, back, face, it is still called a knockdown. Once you feet or legs don't support you and you fall, that's a knockdown.
     
  7. Shrollleftupper

    Shrollleftupper Active Member banned Full Member

    924
    458
    Mar 21, 2016
    How?! I thought a knockdown can occur only if the punch lands on a scoring area and there is no (significant amount of) slipping or tripping involved.
     
  8. C.J.

    C.J. Boxings Living Legend revered & respected by all Full Member

    38,837
    9,688
    Apr 14, 2009
    If the punch lands on a scoring area & not a foul of course its a knockdown if the opponent hits the canvas
     
  9. JOKER

    JOKER You Get What You #$@%ing Deserve!!! Full Member

    1,206
    1,359
    Dec 18, 2019


    Can someone explain why Pac wasn't awarded a KD?

    @ 2:08
     
  10. Reg

    Reg Boxing Addict Full Member

    6,229
    3,568
    Feb 5, 2016
    A legal punch and a legal scoring punch are two different things.
     
  11. Badbot

    Badbot I Am An Actual Pro. Full Member

    31,984
    14,783
    Apr 17, 2011
    This.
    It comes down to the official rules.

    I see why everyone is saying it should be a KD. But then how come a non scoring punch can cause a KD? Doesn't really make sense.
     
    Quina74 likes this.
  12. gdm

    gdm Boxing Junkie banned Full Member

    9,348
    4,767
    Mar 20, 2011
    100% a KD.
     
  13. shadow111

    shadow111 Boxing Junkie Full Member

    12,099
    3,290
    Aug 1, 2012
    I think it was because the ref determined that Pacquiao held Rios with his right glove behind his head which appeared to push Rios down and into range of Pac's left hand.
     
  14. Toney F*** U

    Toney F*** U Boxing junkie Full Member

    2,242
    3,080
    Oct 16, 2019
    A non scoring punch causes a knockdown because the punch caused them to go down
     
  15. JOKER

    JOKER You Get What You #$@%ing Deserve!!! Full Member

    1,206
    1,359
    Dec 18, 2019
    Hmm. Maybe. It looked like Pac was controlling the range/positioning as Rios was charging in, but I don't think he pushed him. I think it should have been a KD. Clean left hook to the body.