Is this proof Deontay Wilder should have won the first fight?

Discussion in 'World Boxing Forum' started by dragon666, Sep 5, 2021.

  1. ashishwarrior

    ashishwarrior Obsessed with Boxing Full Member

    27,067
    5,739
    Apr 19, 2010
    just came here to say exactly this
     
    BubblesUK and BCS8 like this.
  2. Cafe

    Cafe Obsessed with Boxing Full Member

    34,619
    4,513
    Sep 2, 2011
    I've measured the count with an atomic clock, 10.000001 seconds it said. Clearly paid off ref.
     
    Holler and BCS8 like this.
  3. Surrix

    Surrix Boxing Addict Full Member

    5,763
    2,082
    Sep 16, 2020
    He still had remained big tickets seller in US.
    If he had sit only on WBC belt for US market?
    Wilder milked his belt, another example how US boxer for long years is milking his belt today is Garry Russel Jr.
    Nothing wrong if boxer's origin is proper.

    Soon maybe Crawford will be added to this pool: he was like Usyk;), then moved up in weight class and now is talking a lot, milking 1 belt and delivers a little. :(:(:(:(:(:(:(
     
  4. BELLERS

    BELLERS Active Member Full Member

    581
    589
    Feb 22, 2020
    Wilder fans, make a well known phrase from the following words :

    Straws
    Clutching
    At
     
  5. BubblesUK

    BubblesUK Active Member Full Member

    849
    1,037
    May 6, 2021
    The count starts when the ref says it starts.

    If a fighter dances around instead of getting back to their corner, ref usually won't start counting.
     
    RealDeal and kriszhao like this.
  6. lufcrazy

    lufcrazy requiescat in pace Full Member

    68,746
    9,352
    Sep 15, 2009
    Tbf it wouldn't have been controversial if the ref waved it off when Fury was flat out on his back.

    Thankfully the ref used his judgement and the right call was made.
     
    Bokaj, kriszhao, ShovelHook and 2 others like this.
  7. drenlou

    drenlou The Real KING OF THE HILL! Full Member

    48,698
    13,817
    Jan 22, 2015
    Actually no. Thats how refs mess up, the time the fighter hits the mat is when you start the count.
     
  8. drenlou

    drenlou The Real KING OF THE HILL! Full Member

    48,698
    13,817
    Jan 22, 2015
    He got up at 10. Was it really the right call though?
     
  9. Cafe

    Cafe Obsessed with Boxing Full Member

    34,619
    4,513
    Sep 2, 2011
    The timekeeper starts the count. Ref takes over after fighter is sent to the neutral corner, after that it's his count.
     
    Bokaj likes this.
  10. First Round KO

    First Round KO Well-Known Member Full Member

    1,923
    618
    Sep 14, 2013
    The referee has already stated it was the best decision of his life to let Fury continue. Fury was up at 9 and completely clear headed, Wilder sycophants can't accept Fury is the better fighter.
     
  11. Bustajay

    Bustajay Feel the Steel/Balls Deep Full Member

    28,206
    7,458
    Dec 9, 2012
    Made for an exciting moment and then for the fighter to return to his feet and dominate the rest of the round was incredible!!!!

    The ref would of robbed the fans from an exciting ending had he called the fight off at that moment.

    The second fight was just as amazing
     
    BubblesUK likes this.
  12. lufcrazy

    lufcrazy requiescat in pace Full Member

    68,746
    9,352
    Sep 15, 2009
    Yes, he was able to continue and finished the round stronger.
     
    Bustajay, ShovelHook and Wizbit1013 like this.
  13. Dubblechin

    Dubblechin Obsessed with Boxing Full Member

    18,626
    9,784
    Jun 25, 2014
    When Wilder wins his third fight with Tyson Fury, fans will remember Fight 1 as a Wilder win. The highlights from that fight are just Wilder dropped Fury several times and super-long counts. No heavyweight champ who scored two knockdowns (and never went down himself) over a title challenger ever lost the decision and his title in that fight. It was a successful title defense by Wilder, whether people here like that ore not.

    Wilder will have entered the first fight as the WBC Champ and defending titleholder.

    He enterd fight two as the defending champ.

    If he finishes the series as the WBC/Ring Champion, he'll be viewed as the winner of the series.

    If you're going to lose a fight in a three-fight series, the second fight is the one to lose.
     
  14. Wizbit1013

    Wizbit1013 The Original 101.3 Full Member

    7,478
    8,939
    Mar 17, 2018
    Very much so
     
  15. lufcrazy

    lufcrazy requiescat in pace Full Member

    68,746
    9,352
    Sep 15, 2009
    Wilder lost the first two fights.
     
    Bokaj, BubblesUK, kriszhao and 3 others like this.