"Knockouts cause amnesia" - Boxing expert has his say (opposite of online consensus)

Discussion in 'British Boxing Forum' started by Jolly Jim Jacobs, Jan 22, 2023.

1. Jolly Jim Jacobs

Jolly Jim Jacobs New Member banned Full Member

Jan 20, 2023
    I have to say that I got this one very wrong. I am no expert and am not exactly good with my analysis, so I bring you with this chap here who is a boxing expert. You may know him. He is a lawyer by trade and he has represented Andre Ward. Boxers watch this fella, including world champions like Andre Ward and Lawrence Okolie. He knows this sport like the back of his hand. I have assembled some of the main talking points for you boxing fans who do not have the time. I appreciate that it is a long video. I hope that this thread will be allowed to remain without being merged because it offers unique perspectives and would like to see the responses of the many boxing experts of the forum.

This content is protected

2:20 "this fight should be exhibit number one, that sometimes in boxing the better fighter does not win"

Richard Dwyer then compares the bout to those where the better fighter loses like Douglas vs Tyson and Rahman vs Lewis.

7:16 "folks look at the film, Chris Eubank is the superior fighter. From how I watch boxing, it's not close."

Richard Dwyer breaks down Smith's style.

8:20 "that style doesn't have the high ceiling that Chris Eubanks's style has. Eubanks can operate outside the pocket. Eubanks has skills inside the pocket too... Eubanks is adaptive reactive."

10:00 "Liam Smith never makes that adjustment. He keeps getting hit with Chris Eubanks's uppercut!. Chris Eubanks doesn't need to be on his front foot to be offensive."

10:51 "by the third round you are just thinking to yourself that this is just a matter of time. Eubank is landing flush shots."

11:15 "Eubank is a master of moving laterally."

11:28 "I am point all this out because Eubank loses the fight. Knockouts cause amnesia."