Koichi Wajima

Discussion in 'Classic Boxing Forum' started by McGrain, Jun 5, 2008.

1. McGrain

McGrain Diamond Dog Staff Member

Mar 21, 2007
    Wajima didn't turn pro until his 25th year, sick off his job working as a manual labourer. Koichi's style was rather unorthodox - there is no jab to speak of, he leads with uppercuts and hooks, but mainly with his head - fighting out of a crouch, with his chin properly protected at his breast-bone, he would often invite punishment, ducking out of the way of punches at the waist, looking for the correct point to introduce his own punching - at which point he became about as aggressive as a puncher could be.

Koichi Wajima rather reminds me of Jack Dempsey.

Anyway, much of this technically bizzare boxing is born of the fact that Wajima was, up to a point, self taught. This made him very unpredictable. His other great strengths were just that, physical strong with the type of hear that isn't good for a fighter, he was very popular in Japan. Alas, he never fought outside of his home country, perhaps the reason he is not well known or highly rated in the west.

He came to the world light-middleweight title in 1971, beating Carmelo Bossi on an SD, his fourth year as a pro fighter. After 6 successful defences he lost his title via a 15th round KO against against Oscar Abelardo before winning the title back in a rematch 7 months later.

It is now, in 1975 that things get really interesting.

Wajima was past his prime upon meeting Korean champion boxer Jae-do Yuh(50[29], 3[3] and 2), who was certainly stepping up in class in taking on Wajima. Here is the end of that fight. Guys, if you've just popped into this thread for a quick look, please take the time to watch this clip, talk about punch resistance. Wajima is in the orange trunks:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vdFbPBJWMX4&feature=related