Last Fight Critique

Discussion in 'Boxing Training' started by JamesNZ, May 23, 2017.

1. JamesNZ

JamesNZ New Member Full Member

May 21, 2017
    This is my second corporate fight, I'm in the red corner and would love some constructive criticism. Won the fight by unanimous decision but to be fair my opponent had not been training long at all. Bit of background on me, Iv been training for about a year and a half now but not very consistently. The gym I train at is a boxercise gym with only a few of us that spar regularly and are keen on competition but no real commitment from the trainers part to commit to us. One of those gyms where the guys I train with have taught me more than the trainer, which means most of us are kind of self taught then teaching others..and so on..not so good in the long run.

As alot of you guys on here are very clued up on the sweet science I thought id try my luck and see if I can get any tips or advice to better myself as a beginner.

Video got filmed on a phone sideways and Iv tried everything to flip it but it crops half the video out so sorry if it unwatchable for some of you and understand if you cbf with it.

This content is protected

2. Mr.DagoWop

Mr.DagoWop Boxing Junkie banned Full Member

Jul 1, 2015
    Dang everyone in that video is very good at fighting gravity.

3. reznick

reznick In the 7.2% Full Member

Mar 17, 2010
    You did good
    And you probably already know how to improve. Better guard, more jab, be more compact.
    Your power 1-2 is nice. And you have good awareness with your movement and positioning.
    Just keep doing what you're doing at the gym and keep improving. Good job on the win.

4. Caimán

Caimán Member Full Member

Feb 1, 2015
    The typical problem of a tall guy: no guard.

This will make you suffer a lot when you face an opponent that's taller or quicker or close the distance easy or parry your punches or simply good timing.