Mannn, I'm fuming right about now...

Discussion in 'Boxing Training' started by KDot10, Apr 4, 2008.


  1. KDot10

    KDot10 Roy Jones Jr. Full Member

    685
    0
    Dec 30, 2007
    I've just lost my first amateur bout:?

    I can take defeat, but not like this - I got disqualified, according to the ref, for 'repeating foul blows'

    Bollocks ref.

    Im usually at 168, but i shreded myself down to 160 (72 kg), keeping my speed whilst maintaining my power.

    So the first round, I won. I didn't know the actual scores at the time, but I had a kinaesthetic feeling that i was out-boxing this guy into the floor. I was leading 17-4, just from the first round. During the first round, I'll admit, I gave the guy quite a nasty, yet accidental, elbow. Honestly, I'm not a dirty fighter, and I've never even used my elbow before, but hes a southpaw and we clashed together as I ducked under his jab and came up on the inside. It didnt cut him, but there was visable swelling pretty soon after. Fairly, the ref gave me a warning for this - which I accepted, as i knew i wouldnt get 3 warnings, due to the fact that I see myself as a pretty smart fighter.

    So during the second, i continued to out-box him. I though the ref would stop it, due to the fact he wasn't throwing punches, and i must of been leading by at least 20 by now -

    ((3) Win by referee stopping contest (RSC).
    (a) Outclassed. RSC is a term used to stop a bout when a boxer is outclassed or unfit to continue.) or If one boxer has a 20-point advantage (for Open and Under 19/Junior men), or a 15-point advantage (for Women and Junior Olympics/Cadets) over their opponent, the bout must be stopped except in the last round, and the boxer with the advantage is declared the winner.


    The ref didn't look like stepping in, so I continued to pound this guy, whilst also throwing some showboating in there for the crowd:good

    I caught him with a great left hook as he came on the offensive; I just leaned back and caught him sweetly.

    Here's the important part - as he came in (obviously hes moving forward), he went down due to the left, and but i hit him with a right upper as he was on his way down. According to the ref, both his gloves were on the canvas before i landed my final punch. The guy was physically exhausted; I knew he wasn't getting up.

    As i ran to my two brothers (one being my trainer), we celebrated, whilst I caught some of my college mates looking towards the ringside judge rather 'aggressively'. He called the ref over, and obviously must of stated what I'd done. Then after moments of anxiously waiting, the decision was made.

    I'd lost my first amateur bout my DQ.

    Tons of people has camera's there; surely someone will have the footage of the fight - im trying to get hold of it. This really needs to be seen, as I clearly remember his gloves NOT being on the canvas

    Here's what REALLY pisses me off

    Win by disqualification. If a boxer is disqualified, the opponent shall be declared the winner. A boxer is automatically disqualified for not making weight or for committing three warnings in a bout. If both boxers are disqualified, the decision shall be announced accordingly. A disqualified boxer is eliminated from the tournament and shall not be entitled to any prize, medal, trophy, honorable award or grading, relating to any stage of the competition in which the boxer has been disqualified.

    3 warnings?? I only got one!!! :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

    If he included the last punch, then thats only two warnings!! Arghhhh!!!:twisted:

    This has really ****ed me off bad fella's. Obviously im gonna get a rematch soon hopefully, but that 0 on my record was looking good.

    Jesus, i know most of you may not care about my 'tragic' loss, but I'm sure you'll understand when you see the video
     
  2. RDJ

    RDJ Boxing Junkie banned

    13,158
    8
    Sep 27, 2005
    You've been robbed mate, if you get the footage be sure to post it here as well. Can they undo it if you can prove that it was wrong?
     
  3. Jennifer Love Hewitt

    Jennifer Love Hewitt Boxing Junkie Full Member

    9,834
    2,112
    Jul 19, 2004
    I think you get warnings for accidental fouls. If the ref thought that you intentionally hit a fighter who was down, he can disqualify you on the spot.

    It's just one of those things. Take pride in knowing that you were the better fighter that night.
     
  4. joekirkbycobra

    joekirkbycobra King Of The Ring Full Member

    3,966
    2
    Jan 4, 2008
    if u no u wer beating him u can 4get about the disqualification in the ams records dont matter as much so just keep fightin strong n you'll get sumwer:good
     
  5. Boyd

    Boyd Well-Known Member Full Member

    2,539
    0
    Apr 22, 2006
    if you fouled him and he couldn't continue, then you get DQ'd. not saying you did by any means. on a side note, in the big picture of things you were the better man and this will cause no harm to your career. just ask Roy Jones.
     
  6. ben1990

    ben1990 Member Full Member

    476
    0
    May 19, 2007
    If you really didn't commit 3 fouls and the ref was wrong, you can't get that mad. I would be mad 2 the next day, but you should just tell yourself the truth, which is that you didn't commit those fouls and that the ref was an idiot and if you were up 17-4 you were better than that kid. People in the audience might have agreed with you as well. Chances are no one will remember this bout cept for you and that kid. Both you and him know that you were the better fighter and he hopes that next time he meets you there is another bad ref in the ring.

    Oh yea and this is the AMs so its not like you gonna lose money or anything, and no one probably knows your amauter record but you.
     
  7. MrSmall

    MrSmall Member Full Member

    142
    7
    Jan 2, 2006
    ROBBERY!
    REMATCH!
    In reality you won, so.
     
  8. cheech

    cheech Well-Known Member Full Member

    1,602
    6
    Oct 28, 2007
    You should try to get a video. You can use this video for evidence. If somebody ****ed you I say **** them back.
    222.3 Filing the complaint.
    Any member of USA Boxing may file a written complaint against any member of
    USA Boxing alleging violations of USA Boxing/LBC rules/regulations or its
    Constitution and By-laws to the National Board of Review. A complaint may be
    initiated by USA Boxing.
    (1) The Party filing the complaint shall be referred to as the petitioner. The party(s)
    against whom the complaint is filed shall be referred to as the respondent(s). The
    burden of proof shall be on the petitioner regarding the complaint and any
    subsequent hearing.
    (2) All complaints must be sent certified mail, return receipt requested, preferred to
    the chairperson of the National Board of Review. The petitioner(s) shall also
    mail copies of the complaint to respondent(s).
    (3) The complaint shall contain, in detail, the alleged violation(s) by reference to
    specific sections of the Rules and Regulations of USA Boxing or LBC, stating in
    concise language how, when and where the alleged violation occurred. The
    factual allegations shall be set forth in numbered paragraphs, each paragraph
    containing a single factual allegation.
    (4) An investigation consistent with Section 222.4 below will be initiated by the
    chairperson of the National Board of Review within 21 days of receipt of the
    complaint for the purpose of collecting relevant documents, information, facts
    and other evidence, which may include interviews with the petitioner(s),
    respondent(s), and other persons having information related to the subject of the
    complaint. The investigation will also address the timeliness of the complaint.
    This investigation must be completed and a written report submitted to the
    chairperson with a copy to the member(s) filing the charges within 60 days of the
    date the investigation was initiated. The National Board of Review may increase
    the time limits for completion of the investigative report, if circumstances should warrant it. If warranted, a hearing before the National Board of Review may be
    initiated pursuant to the procedures outlined in this Article.
    (5) If it is determined that a notice of hearing is to be issued, the date of the mailing
    of the notice must be no later than 30 days after the date the investigative report
    was submitted.
    (6) If it is determined that a notice of hearing is not to be issued, or that the
    complaint may be disposed of or resolved at this stage, the petitioner must be so
    notified in writing no later than 30 days after the date the investigative report was
    received by the chairperson.
     
  9. Akxtinguish

    Akxtinguish Belt holder Full Member

    3,659
    1
    Dec 6, 2007
    ^Haha. Why didn't anyone tell Ricky Hatton about this?

    To KDot10, I feel for you, and it would be interesting to see the clip. It won't make you feel better, but once people lose their 0 then I like to say that at least they can fight on without worrying too much about their record.
     
  10. BeGGeRs

    BeGGeRs god Full Member

    212
    0
    Nov 8, 2006
  11. amy

    amy If you know what I mean Full Member

    3,564
    6
    May 23, 2006
    If the official thinks what you did was intentional they can DQ you on the spot without any cautions.

    Just a piece of advice, from an officials viewpoint, don't showboat. It only ticks off the ref and the judges. It is actually a foul and the ref can caution you for it. If I was reffing a fight and a kid was showboating and taunting his opponent and then happen to hit when the other guy was down, I would probably assume is was on purpose. I don't know if I'd DQ on the spot (depends on the situation) but I would definitely take points.
     
  12. avk47

    avk47 King Full Member

    2,120
    0
    Feb 3, 2005
    Whatever happened, get used to it and welcome to the amateurs. :good Unless your the next greatest thing, everyone will lose and very often it won't be fair. That's what boxing is like. I've recently come to the conclusion that it's best to forget your record and just take one fight at a time. That way if you lose you just move on straight away, get back in the gym and win your next one.
     
  13. 168 lbs

    168 lbs Guest

  14. Kolya

    Kolya Boxing Addict Full Member

    5,963
    42
    Jul 21, 2004
    Yup. And if the referee thought that it was a hard foul, or intentional, they can disqualify you immediately; especially for something like an elbow or hitting while you're down. The showboating too is a good way to get points deducted quickly. And the 20 point outclassed rule only applies when computer scoring is being used at an event; usually a national or international event.
     
  15. joekirkbycobra

    joekirkbycobra King Of The Ring Full Member

    3,966
    2
    Jan 4, 2008
    ?