Marquez-Vasquez II, Round 5 - Knockdown or slip?

Discussion in 'World Boxing Forum' started by Antwuan Maxx, Aug 5, 2007.


  1. IntentionalButt

    IntentionalButt Guy wants to name his çock 'macho' that's ok by me

    403,110
    84,971
    Nov 30, 2006
    Buddy, there is absolutely no way in hell that was a knockdown punch, even with Izzy having already started losing his balance.
     
  2. emanuel_augustus

    emanuel_augustus Boxing Addict Full Member

    4,905
    14
    Jul 27, 2004
    \

    Seriously, what are you watching?? You can see Vasquez's head jerk back from the punch. The left was short and he didn't see it, it clearly was a knockdown, Vasquez lost his equilibrium. It's not that hard to see.
     
  3. PATSYS

    PATSYS Boxing Junkie Full Member

    10,481
    18
    Aug 12, 2004
    Clear as day - it was a slip. Marquez didn't land a punch.
     
  4. Drew101

    Drew101 Obsessed with Boxing Full Member

    29,794
    8,332
    Feb 11, 2005
    Hmm. Marquez lands the hook, but then Vasquez immediately fires back with a jab, and his leg slips forward; a reaction that usually isn't caused by a punch (usually the knees buckle- and that didn't happen in this case.) Since IV's reaction doesn't seem to be a direct result of a punch, I'd be inclined to say that calling it a slip isn't that bad of a call.
     
  5. Casa

    Casa Flomo Pactard Full Member

    976
    0
    Nov 18, 2006
    I still think it's a slip since the punch didn't cause the knockdown. You can see he plants his left foot then he slips dodging Marquez's right.
     
  6. Thor

    Thor ESB's King of Cool Full Member

    609
    0
    Apr 23, 2006
    It's a moot point now, onward to Episode III.
     
  7. IntentionalButt

    IntentionalButt Guy wants to name his çock 'macho' that's ok by me

    403,110
    84,971
    Nov 30, 2006
    Just rewatched the fight, replayed the slow-motion angles several times. The punch was a contributing factor but not the driving force of his fall. His head didn't jerk back, his face got pushed to one side momentarily same as any hook that lands clean and an instant later he was facing straight forward and throwing punches without setting his already splayed feet, which then kicked out from under him. Way too delayed a reaction to blame on the punch alone and there was too much other movement, too many other variables to say that the slip would not have occured sans the punch. We'll never know. Only Izzy knows how much force that punch had, he didn't appear to react like he thuoght he was getting away with anything and Rafael didn't seem miffed at the call.
     
  8. Boom_Boom

    Boom_Boom R.I.P Boxing 6/9/12 Full Member

    38,291
    23
    Sep 21, 2006
    I wish they would stop putting those ****ing shiny logos on the mat

    it interferred alot with the cabrello fight too
     
  9. IntentionalButt

    IntentionalButt Guy wants to name his çock 'macho' that's ok by me

    403,110
    84,971
    Nov 30, 2006
    The worst of it is that they were advertising their shitty newjack MMA bull**** in a sweet science ring. :twisted: :lol:
     
  10. errsta

    errsta Boxing Addict banned

    6,321
    1
    Jul 31, 2004
    Slip.

    I swore it was a knockdown at first but the birdseye view confirmed that Marquez's right did not land.
     
  11. sues2nd

    sues2nd Fading into Bolivian... Full Member

    9,760
    8
    Aug 7, 2004
    Dude, thats clearly a slip....:lol:

    After that left hook to the shoulder, they continued fighting....it clearly wasnt caused by the left....your dilusional...

    ....and plus, if its a foot slip, even if there is a punch (that didnt score btw) its still considered a slip by the rules....
     
  12. Archie_Moore

    Archie_Moore ALL TIME KO KING Full Member

    1,067
    29
    Jul 21, 2004
  13. Brickhaus

    Brickhaus Packs the house Full Member

    22,296
    5
    Mar 14, 2007
    He slipped on the logo, just like five other fighters did during the card. The punch where he fell down didn't even touch him.
     
  14. Scar

    Scar VIP Member Full Member

    76,128
    2,767
    Jul 20, 2004
    CLEARLY a knockdown, I don't understand how anyone would consider that a slip. Marquez connected right on the chin and he went down, nothing embarrassing there.
     
  15. sues2nd

    sues2nd Fading into Bolivian... Full Member

    9,760
    8
    Aug 7, 2004
    Your joking right scar???