Marquez-Vasquez II, Round 5 - Knockdown or slip?

Discussion in 'World Boxing Forum' started by Antwuan Maxx, Aug 5, 2007.


  1. Antwuan Maxx

    Antwuan Maxx Boxing Junkie Full Member

    13,248
    2
    Apr 23, 2006
    The incompetence in this thread is shocking. I even paused the GIF on the frame where the punch landed that knocked Vasquez off balance. Yet people are still saying a punch didn't land. :nut
     
  2. Scar

    Scar VIP Member Full Member

    76,128
    2,767
    Jul 20, 2004
    Not at all mate, check it out, Marquez lands right on Vasquez' chin and down he goes. That was more of a flash knockdown than anything serious, Vasquez got back up normal and showed no signs of being hurt at all which means that it was a flash knockdown. A real knockdown is what happened to Diaz against Morales in the first round, Diaz is nailed, down he goes and gets back up wobbly. Both are knockdowns though but Vasquez just didn't see the punch coming, he going forward and boom, then gets back up normal.
     
  3. Scar

    Scar VIP Member Full Member

    76,128
    2,767
    Jul 20, 2004
    It clearly landed and right on the chin, I noticed it even during the fight without the need of any replays to convince me. It's not like "Ohh, it should've been a knockout!" or "Vasquez was out on his feat!!!!". Just a flash knockdown, nothing too serious in favor of Marquez.
     
  4. freddy-wak

    freddy-wak M O D E R A T O R Full Member

    36,443
    29
    Oct 28, 2004
    i already rewinded that **** about 3485738043095840 times and it was definately a knockdown....israel was about to come in, was a bit of balance but that left hook definately caused the knockdown.......
     
  5. Brickhaus

    Brickhaus Packs the house Full Member

    22,296
    5
    Mar 14, 2007
    Yes, THAT punch landed. The second one, a second later (which was the one that would have sent him in the direction he fell) did NOT land. Also, if you watch his foot, you can clearly see it slip. As stated elsewhere, there were problems with the boxers slipping on that spot all night. The ref knew that, and that's probably part of the reason he was able to call it a slip.

    In any case, he won by KO a round later, so what does it really matter?
     
  6. errsta

    errsta Boxing Addict banned

    6,321
    1
    Jul 31, 2004
    Change of mind: It WAS a knockdown.

    At first I was just examining the right cross that followed the left hook (and missed), but the left hook is what caused the knockdown. The knockdown/slip was a result of that punch.
     
  7. jonesjrp4p1

    jonesjrp4p1 16 yr old prodigy Full Member

    1,575
    15
    Mar 31, 2007
    if i was the ref i would of called it a knockdown bc he got hit with the left hand as he was moving backwards........yes he was offbalance and wasnt hurt but he got hit
     
  8. sues2nd

    sues2nd Fading into Bolivian... Full Member

    9,760
    8
    Aug 7, 2004
    :happy
     
  9. smokey

    smokey Member Full Member

    462
    1
    Nov 28, 2005
    He slipped on that lettering it looks like to me. I hate all that advertizing crap on the canvas.
     
  10. digiram

    digiram Active Member Full Member

    925
    0
    May 22, 2005
    Thanks for overhead. Clearly appeared to be a minor flash KD.
     
  11. Farmboxer

    Farmboxer VIP Member Full Member

    86,106
    4,096
    Jul 19, 2004
    That fight was stopped too soon. Was the ref paid off? Who knows, but it would not surprise me. It's a shame it was not allowed to go on.
     
  12. psychopath

    psychopath D' "X" Factor Full Member

    26,390
    2
    Mar 13, 2007
    Yes Vasquez was hit with the left hook alright but it was clear that it was not the reason why he fell . . . you watch your own clip. :D

    Vasquez tried to avoid the incoming right when his lead foot lost it's footing. Watch Marquez right punch and watch Vasquez left foot.

    That's a good call buddy. Vasquez simply lost his balance.
     
  13. achillesthegreat

    achillesthegreat FORTUNE FAVOURS THE BRAVE Full Member

    37,070
    29
    Jul 21, 2004
    You can see his head move. You aren't one of these fools who believe every knockdown is power orientated. He was lunging in off balance and out of position. He was made to pay.
     
  14. IntentionalButt

    IntentionalButt Guy wants to name his çock 'macho' that's ok by me

    403,110
    84,971
    Nov 30, 2006
    I agree that it was a factor, i just can't concede that if you subtracted the punch the other variables by themselves wouldn't have been enough to cause him to go down. I think it was a nail in the coffin, as opposed to a death knell. Of course, as subjective as rulings in this sport can be, I could understand a ref erring on the side of assuming the punch caused it directly and saying that still counts as knockdown just because there was contact. :think
     
  15. achillesthegreat

    achillesthegreat FORTUNE FAVOURS THE BRAVE Full Member

    37,070
    29
    Jul 21, 2004
    Well it was. He was lunging in and was not braced for a shot coming his way. He was off balance and out of position. The video clearly shows this. Had Marquez not punched him he would not have totally lost his balance.

    I don't know what the ref didn't see. Marquez punched him and Vasquez went down.

    The worst is Bernstein who made something up that didn't exist and he saw what happened ringside and replayed two or three times.