New born boxer

Discussion in 'Training Logs' started by Realbad, Apr 14, 2010.

1. Realbad

Realbad New Member Full Member

Apr 14, 2010
    I'm new to the boxing world ,but not fights. I found myself enjoying fighting and watching bouts and I would love to transform my brawler instincts into a productive hobby. So I'm going to go get some gloves and head to the King center to learn, but I need some help I want to be the best I can be so I need some real pointers if y'all would mind.

2. sugarsean

sugarsean Boxing Addict Full Member

Jun 2, 2009
    what exactly would you like to know, there's so much to boxing, what main points do you want advice about.

3. Realbad

Realbad New Member Full Member

Apr 14, 2010
    I am in the process of learning to perfect the jab, but my balance and footwork need much improvement. For example when I throw big combinations I begin to lean to the outsides of my shoes and not on the balls of my feet is there any thing you could precribe for this situation

4. PugilistStudent

PugilistStudent Active Member Full Member

Nov 25, 2009
    Keep shadowboxing and just work on simpler combinations for now (up to 3 punches). If your really serious you could shadowbox 5 rounds every morning before you do anything and when you go to the boxing gym shadowbox for another 5-10 rounds after you warm up and try to get some pads and/or drills or better yet sparring in while your at the gym. Keep asking for advice while your at the gym too. Theres no magic just practice.

5. sugarsean

sugarsean Boxing Addict Full Member

Jun 2, 2009
    this,