new boxer advice?

Discussion in 'Boxing Training' started by TJayIV, Feb 18, 2017.

1. TJayIV

TJayIV New Member Full Member

Feb 14, 2017
    Hi, I'm a new member and I was hoping to get good advice here since I'm fairly new to amateur boxing (I've had a lot of street fights before though, but I know its going to be different in the ring.)
    I had a couple questions if I may.
    I currently weigh 114 and my trainer wants me to go to 108 lbs is it safe for me to lose that much weight?
    And is peekaboo style usable in amateur fights or just professional?

Last edited: Apr 13, 2017
  2. Mr.DagoWop

Mr.DagoWop Boxing Junkie banned Full Member

Jul 1, 2015
  3. Caimán

Caimán Member Full Member

Feb 1, 2015
    Try to resume a little more and be specific about your questions next time. I'll give you my opinion about what I think your questions are:

- If your trainer told you to lose weight, that means you CAN do it without decrease your health. You'll build fast explosive and durable muscles. If you want to be a pro you must deal with that.

- I do use peek-a-boo style in amateur fights and it's pretty useful as long as you have a good defense, good cardio and set the proper distance/angle for combinations. You will land clear shots and get the opponent tired. The thing is that you need to control the distance you want to fight.

TJayIV and Mr.DagoWop like this.
  4. reznick

reznick In the 7.2% Full Member

Mar 17, 2010
    If you start now, you may not be happy with your experiences in the ring.

I would heed his advice and start when he feels that you are ready.

5. Speechless

Speechless Well-Known Member Full Member

Mar 7, 2012
    Your coach nailed it on the head. "Take it easy".
    Don't get ahead of yourself and overthink things. You haven't even sparred yet and you're already talking about going pro?!?!?.
    A lot of people try it and realize it ain't for them. Start with that, and we'll talk.

BoxinScienceUSA likes this.
  6. TJayIV

Feb 14, 2017