New Heavy Bag

Discussion in 'Boxing Training' started by Alex1990, Jun 30, 2017.

1. Alex1990

Alex1990 New Member Full Member

Jun 29, 2017
    What are peoples recommendations on heavy bags. I am new to the sport have no idea of the benefits of different materials etc. just looking for a decent bag to work with

Last edited: Jun 30, 2017
    SnatchBox likes this.
  2. rodney

rodney Boxing Junkie Full Member

Jun 16, 2006
  3. baconmaker

baconmaker Boxing Addict banned Full Member

Apr 23, 2013
    All wilders opponets.

RG1885, Caimán, Todd498 and 4 others like this.
  4. Alex1990

Alex1990 New Member Full Member

Jun 29, 2017
    how do water bags feel? I presume they are softer to help prevent impact injury but do they feel good to train with

SnatchBox likes this.
  5. SnatchBox

SnatchBox Boxing Full Member

Nov 26, 2016
    if you got the money get one of the agua bags they're great

To be honest though you should just invest the money in going to a gym first. Coaches will always see the bad habits you make and correct them.

Northadox, joe brown, PIRA and 2 others like this.
  6. SnatchBox

SnatchBox Boxing Full Member

Nov 26, 2016
  7. GALVATRON

GALVATRON Boxing Junkie banned Full Member

Oct 30, 2016
    Go with 150 Muay Thai bags that are 6 feet tall because it covers all targets of a human body and they feel/mimick hitting a person as its solid but also lets your punch go into the bag for more impact power.you also want a bag thats not easily moved so you can focus on skill and accuracy.So hang it short and if you can 4 chains on each side of the bag on a thick beam or object. you dont want a water bag bc it takes away from actually getting used to hitting a solid object.

your hands will get stronger with real bags....and water bags can break easier.

8. rodney

rodney Boxing Junkie Full Member

Jun 16, 2006
    Bull****. Water bags are great. You can really dig in like hitting a real human body. I have had them over 20 years.