NYSAC reviewing Davis/Roach

Discussion in 'World Boxing Forum' started by Dempsey Gibbons, Mar 3, 2025.


  1. Braindamage

    Braindamage Baby Face Beast Full Member

    11,029
    10,076
    Oct 1, 2011
    Doesn't matter if a punch landed or not. Fighters just can't take a knee to stop the action. The man literally took a knee then walked over to the corner and got his face wiped off. That should never be allowed.
     
  2. lobk

    lobk Original ESB Member Full Member

    29,242
    18,662
    Jul 19, 2004
    The board ruled that Davis only used 1 of the 3 time out. So all is good
     
    NullaLexInk and CST80 like this.
  3. MetalLicker

    MetalLicker I Am Full Member

    24,175
    27,831
    Feb 10, 2011
    Keleneki and CST80 like this.
  4. lobk

    lobk Original ESB Member Full Member

    29,242
    18,662
    Jul 19, 2004
    It will remain a draw.
    https://www.si.com/fannation/boxing/lamont-roach-slams-nysac-verdict-on-gervonta-davis-fight

    NYSAC stated, "The bout continued for more than three full rounds after the referee's no knockdown call, and because the boxers necessarily adjusted to the referee's ruling, the referee's call was not outcome-determinative."

    The statement also added that while NYSAC believes the knee should have been ruled a knockdown, it "was within the discretion and authority of the referee," to make that decision. And because the bout's referee Steve Willis didn't deem it a knockdown, it isn't up to them to dispute that.


    Which blows my mind that they just open a can of worm for fighters to take a knee to call time out. The rule is if a fighter voluntarily takes a knee it is a knock down cause you can not call time out. The corrupt NYSAC is saying now it is up to the ref to interoperate a pretty clear rule?
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2025
    NullaLexInk and MetalLicker like this.
  5. MetalLicker

    MetalLicker I Am Full Member

    24,175
    27,831
    Feb 10, 2011
    Yeah, the NYSAC is corrupt, but what else is new? There should be no desecration because it's a clear rule. They did acknowledge that it was a KD, which is what everyone said and that no-called KD officially robbed Roach, in additional to the clear robbery without the KD.

    They said nothing about the corner entering the ring either. Another clear rule that was ignored.