Self Defense/Performance Expectations?

Discussion in 'Boxing Training' started by ShortNStocky, Sep 6, 2019.

1. ShortNStocky

ShortNStocky New Member Full Member

Sep 5, 2019
    I had been boxing for four years, competing as an amateur. An injury sidelined me from the sport for MANY years. Finally pretty much recovered from my injury, I set up a light sparring session with my buddies at my local park (they also box) ready to get back into boxing again. During our session, some guy came up to us, telling us how he's a boxer himself. He asked if he could join our sparring session, I said yes believing him about his boxing background, thinking he'd understand what light sparring meant.

Well, he ended up turning into Charlie Zelenoff. He went balls to the wall. He mostly threw big power shots. Now, none of these power punches landed (only on my gloves, and boy could he hit hard), he did get me with two jabs at the very most which I barely felt . I hit him with two check hooks which made him stop the sparring session because he felt too rocked to continue. I won without getting hurt.