Sucking at Sparring

Discussion in 'Boxing Training' started by A_M_I_12, Sep 2, 2021.

1. A_M_I_12

A_M_I_12 New Member Full Member

Aug 23, 2021
    Hello, I’ve been training for boxing for 6 months now and I feel like I’ve achieved nothing. I look good hitting the pads and bag but in sparring I get destroyed. Each and everything from transferring weight with each punch, bringing back hands for defence and offensive techniques don’t work. I punch and I get hit back almost instantly. Maybe im holding back because I’ve never gone full force even though it feels like the ones who I spar with are using quite a bit of power while I’m at 25 to 30 percent. When I try a combo I get hit in between my punches by people who have trained boxing just as long as me. I try to apply everything I learn in YouTube videos, mostly Tom yankellows YouTube channel world class boxing, but I still get destroyed. Maybe I should let loose more, idk what’s wrong

2. miniq

miniq Tyson Fury Undisputed HW Champion 18/5/24 banned Full Member

Oct 23, 2011
    Takes years...

6 months is nothing.

joe brown and aaalbert like this.
  3. f1ght3rz

f1ght3rz Ronaldoooo is crying in his caaaaaar Full Member

Jan 31, 2018
    Spar. More. Learn on the job. Don't give up.

4. LeavemealoneKoooogs

LeavemealoneKoooogs All hail his excellency Full Member

Apr 30, 2021
    Just rehashing what these guys are saying, sparring is the only real way to get better, and it will not be am easy ride you will have to endure some one sided rounds, but stick at it and little by little you will notice improvements. Easier said than done but the more you can manage your nerves, the easier the whole experience is.

TheArchitect likes this.
  5. spion

spion Active Member Full Member

Dec 6, 2004