The Perrella/Ramos/Reiss Debacle: How The Hell Can Someone Win By TKO, When The Match Is Over?

Discussion in 'World Boxing Forum' started by CST80, Feb 16, 2020.


  1. CST80

    CST80 The Mercurial Mephistophelean Malcontent Staff Member

    158,709
    77,859
    Sportsbook:
    59,000
    Nov 23, 2013
    There was another Jack Reiss Special on the undercard of Plant-Feigenbutz tonight. In one of the worst calls I've seen in years, Bryant Perrella who was ahead on all three of the judges scorecards (and rightfully) was dropped hard twice in the last round by Abel Ramos, he made it to his feet both times. After the second knockdown Reiss made him walk a bit, he stumbled a little, and Reiss waved it off with 1 second remaining in the match. And of course, here comes all of the Holy **** that was like Chavez-Taylor comparisons, but here's the catch it really wasn't.

    BECAUSE THE FIGHT SHOULD HAVE BEEN OVER WHEN HE WAVED IT OFF.

    Watch the video of the last part of the match, fine the counter on the screen isn't always accurate, but the guy with the clacker, the official timekeeper IS.

    The 10 second warning goes off, Perrella is dropped at 7-8 seconds left, he gets back up, gets a full eight count. THE FIGHT IS OVER. But no bell sounds, now into overtime, Reiss has him walk, then waves it off a full 8 SECONDS after the final bell should have sounded.

    How the hell can you lose by TKO 15 seconds after you get dropped in a match that only had 7 seconds remaining?



    Seriously all of you look at this bull****, am I right? The bell should have sounded 5-8 seconds before it got waived off. Use the clacker as a starting point.



    Had it gone to the cards, Perrella would have won via Majority Decision.
     
    marting, N17, JacK Rauber and 2 others like this.
  2. Robney

    Robney ᴻᴼ ᴸᴼᴻᴳᴲᴿ ᴲ۷ᴵᴸ Full Member

    83,123
    14,704
    Sportsbook:
    4,880
    Jan 18, 2010
    You already had my reaction about this in the Kirk league thread, but I thought I post it here too :thumbsup:

     
    CST80 likes this.
  3. CST80

    CST80 The Mercurial Mephistophelean Malcontent Staff Member

    158,709
    77,859
    Sportsbook:
    59,000
    Nov 23, 2013
  4. Dangerwood84

    Dangerwood84 Active Member Full Member

    1,056
    1,106
    Sportsbook:
    1,000
    Sep 21, 2017
    Initially, irrespective of how long was left, I didn't think Reiss was justified in stopping it. When it was called, I figured there must have been a second left. I just rewatched it, you are clearly right, the bell should have rung.
     
  5. KO KIDD

    KO KIDD Obsessed with Boxing Full Member

    26,213
    1,975
    Sportsbook:
    1,000
    Oct 5, 2009
    Very interesting

    Reiss did give him a lot of time after the first knockdown and was dropped almost immediately after they resumed

    Kind of reminds me of all the pissed of fans in Andrade vs bute complaining but bute got up and there was no time left
     
    jaytxxl likes this.
  6. NoNeck

    NoNeck Pugilist Specialist Full Member

    12,177
    5,635
    Sportsbook:
    1,605
    Apr 3, 2012
    Was the fight under "cannot be saved by the bell including the final round" rules?
     
    guncho likes this.
  7. f1ght3rz

    f1ght3rz Boxing Junkie Full Member

    10,335
    10,860
    Sportsbook:
    17
    Jan 31, 2018
    1. Jack Reiss isn't the TIME-keeper of the fight. He's the REFEREE. The time-keeper sitting next to the ring and ringing the bell. It's not the job of Jack Reiss to RING the bell and end the fight. It's his job to seperate the fighters right AFTER the bell rang.

    Fact #1: It's not Jack Reiss fault that the time-keeper most likely forgot to ring the bell.

    2. It isn't the job of Jack Reiss to make a calculated assessment between "time left on the clock" and "is the fighter able to continue". If so, there wouldn't be stoppages in the last 10-15 seconds of a fight because if a fighter is knocked down with 10 seconds left, he can not NOT beat the count because of simple maths (unless he's completly out and the ref waves it off immediately).

    Fact #2: It's not Jack Reiss fault that the time-keeper most likely forgot to ring the bell (Fact #1) and then didn't make the decision to let the fight end reguarly because the fight was ending anyway in the next second.

    3. The job of Jack Reiss is to give a honest assessment if a fighter can continue to fight or not. He decided (rightfully) that Perella couldn't continue as he was completly out of his feet and badly hurt. With 5 or 10 seconds more on the clock (Again, Reiss not necessarily knew the fight was basically over) Ramos might have KILLED Perella.

    Fact #3: The ref stoppage was ABSOLUTELY fine, just has a bad tasting because of the time-keeper not doing his job correctly. Again, it's not Jack Reiss fault that nobody rang the bell. He's the ref, not the time-keeper.


    CALLING OUT Jack Reiss for the fault the time-keeper made is just poor in my opinion. But i'm not overly surprised as you picked Perella in the league and he won the fight and you're pissed so i'm not too mad. But Jack Reiss did as much wrong as he did with Fury in the Wilder fight. NOTHING.
     
    Leeroy84, Reinhardt, Deew and 5 others like this.
  8. f1ght3rz

    f1ght3rz Boxing Junkie Full Member

    10,335
    10,860
    Sportsbook:
    17
    Jan 31, 2018
    And another assumption: If a fighter is knocked down with 5-7 seconds left in the round. And the ref gives him a count but the bell rings to end the round, the ref still has to continue his count as a fighter can not be saved by the BELL.
     
  9. f1ght3rz

    f1ght3rz Boxing Junkie Full Member

    10,335
    10,860
    Sportsbook:
    17
    Jan 31, 2018
    And another ASSUMPTION, my last one: I think the bell didn't ring because the time-keeper knew that the BELL can't save a fighter. So he probably would have rang the bell right after Reiss cleared Perella to continue.

    Let's not forget Perella got a very generous 8 count after the first KD. Without that...Ramos had a much better chance to finish Perella even in time with a brutal KO.
     
  10. CST80

    CST80 The Mercurial Mephistophelean Malcontent Staff Member

    158,709
    77,859
    Sportsbook:
    59,000
    Nov 23, 2013
    Tennessee Rules state something different. And they were in Tennessee.

    • (3) A contestant who is knocked down must take a count of eight (8) whether or not he has regained his feet before the count has been reached. If when the count of eight (8) is reached the contestant is on his feet, the referee shall wipe any accumulated resin from his gloves, and may examine him sufficiently to assure himself that the contestant is physically fit and mentally alert enough to continue. If so assured, the referee shall, without loss of time, order the contestants to resume boxing.
    • (4) If the contestant taking the count is still down when the referee calls the count of ten (10), the referee shall wave both arms, indicating that the contestant has been knocked out. When a round other than a final round shall terminate while the referee is administering the count to a contestant who has been knocked down, the count shall be continued. The timekeeper shall not ring the bell until and unless such contestant rises before the count of ten (10) and the referee orders him to resume boxing. If the fallen contestant shall fail to rise before the count of ten (10), he shall be declared the loser by knockout in the round just concluded.
     
  11. FrankinDallas

    FrankinDallas Boxing Addict Full Member

    6,323
    3,988
    Sportsbook:
    1,000
    Jul 24, 2004
    Every sport that is under a time limit...soccer, basketball, hockey, US football to name a few....have an official time clock that referees can see. But boxing? Oh no, we're in the 18th century here, no need for a clock.
     
    Deew likes this.
  12. nervousxtian

    nervousxtian Trolljegeren Full Member

    13,865
    783
    Sportsbook:
    1,000
    Aug 6, 2005
    I mean, on one hand I get it.. but on the other hand don't basically get KTFO at the end of a fight.

    I remember people claiming Bute should have been TKO against Andrade for years in a similar situation. So people gonna get mad either way.
     
  13. f1ght3rz

    f1ght3rz Boxing Junkie Full Member

    10,335
    10,860
    Sportsbook:
    17
    Jan 31, 2018
    Never said the BELL shouldn't have rang, but i tried to explain WHY it didn't ring in the end. I already said the time-keeper did make a mistake - most likely. Maybe he came over from a different commission? Who knows. In the end you can blame the time-keeper, you can blame Perella for being KTFO in last 30 seconds of a fight he was winning easily instead of clinching and moving. But blaming the ref imo isn't fair. Especially with relating to Fury/Wilder which was totally fine btw.
     
  14. CST80

    CST80 The Mercurial Mephistophelean Malcontent Staff Member

    158,709
    77,859
    Sportsbook:
    59,000
    Nov 23, 2013
    Great, then they should overturn the decision. Regardless, Reiss is still a ****ty worthless ref.
     
    OvidsExile, C.J. and JacK Rauber like this.
  15. f1ght3rz

    f1ght3rz Boxing Junkie Full Member

    10,335
    10,860
    Sportsbook:
    17
    Jan 31, 2018
    I don't think that will happen and i'm glad it won't happen because Ramos earned it with a great approach in R10. A lot of fighters would have just accepted the loss after getting outboxed for the majority of the fight. He went for it. Great warrior!
     
    lobk likes this.


Sign up for ESPN+ and Stream Live Sports! Advertisement