The Perrella/Ramos/Reiss Debacle: How The Hell Can Someone Win By TKO, When The Match Is Over?

Discussion in 'World Boxing Forum' started by CST80, Feb 16, 2020.


  1. Reinhardt

    Reinhardt Boxing Addict Full Member

    5,338
    5,048
    Sportsbook:
    41
    Oct 4, 2016

    Agree totally, very accurate description of the facts
     
    f1ght3rz likes this.
  2. OvidsExile

    OvidsExile God Bless America Full Member

    20,893
    14,217
    Sportsbook:
    500
    Aug 28, 2012
    These guys put their lives and health on the line every time they step into the ring and I applaud the referee for making the right call and saving this fighter from potential injury. He's a hero.
     
    f1ght3rz likes this.
  3. PaddyGarcia

    PaddyGarcia Fan of Antichrist Marxism Full Member

    14,861
    11,186
    Sportsbook:
    294
    Feb 13, 2014
    If you put someone in a position in which they cannot protect themselves, even if there's only a second left, then you score a TKO as far as I'm concerned. I don't like the idea of it being 'well, it was only a second he would have been fine' because to me you've rendered the other guy into a state of unprotected which is one of the aims of the game. I get the support for what you're saying but I stand by my stance on the matter.
     
  4. Reppin501

    Reppin501 The People's Champ Full Member

    19,962
    1,032
    Sportsbook:
    1,610
    Apr 26, 2010
    The fight was over, there was no danger, zero. He answered the count, he wasn’t anywhere near Bute level hurt. He was hurt, he got up, no protection needed.
     
    CST80 likes this.
  5. PaddyGarcia

    PaddyGarcia Fan of Antichrist Marxism Full Member

    14,861
    11,186
    Sportsbook:
    294
    Feb 13, 2014
    He stumbled when the ref asked him to walk even after the count and initial check. Dude was in no state to continue fighting. If you put the other guy into a state in which they cannot defend themselves then the fight gets stopped, regardless of how long is on the clock, otherwise why bother fighting to the end? Now the argument can be made that the bell ought to have been rung and I think that's fair enough but a different conversation entirely.
     
  6. Reppin501

    Reppin501 The People's Champ Full Member

    19,962
    1,032
    Sportsbook:
    1,610
    Apr 26, 2010
    I understand your point, I do. I’m saying he didn’t need protection because the fight was over. He was responsive and answered the count.
     
  7. Drew101

    Drew101 Obsessed with Boxing Full Member

    27,844
    5,433
    Sportsbook:
    4,500
    Feb 11, 2005
    Unfortunately for Perrella, the final bell doesn't ring until the official signals for the action to resume. If a fighter doesn't show the ability to resume fighting once the count is administered, the official is within his rights-and is pretty much obligated to-stop it. It may be ceremonial at that point, but the fighter still has to be able to complete the ceremony to be ruled as being able to continue.

    Plus...the bell has to ring to end the round, period. There have been examples of rounds stretching on for well beyond the three minute mark; if the round had continued for another few seconds beyond the count because the time keeper, for whatever reason, didn't ring the bell, then Perrella would have been required to keep fighting for that time period. If he was unable to do so, then the ref would have to stop the fight, anyway.

    Of course, a case could have been made that Parrella shouldn't have been allowed to continue after the first KD anyway, and definitely the fight could have been stopped without a count once he hit the mat for a second time without offering much in the way of resistance. That's a judgement call, but I've seen fights stopped in the dying second for less.

    Perrella and team are well within their rights to protest...But I suspect that this outcome will stand. They might well be able to secure an immediate rematch, though. That would be fair for all parties involved.
     
    PaddyGarcia likes this.
  8. marting

    marting Boxing Addict Full Member

    3,379
    1,635
    Sportsbook:
    1,000
    Jul 20, 2004
    BS stoppage. I didn't even see the so called stumble until the third replay and even then I question the legitimacy of the decision. Usually the ref steps back and says walk towards me. Reiss says "walk over there and come back to me." His first three steps were fine. Maybe Perella stutter stepped wondering did I walk to "over there"? How many steps qualifies for a ruling? What are they gonna do next? Do one lap around the ring?

    I see the other side to this in regard to this procedure of a ref issuing a series of commands. Some of these "counts" are turning into 15, 20 second affairs. This one wasn't too bad but I've saw a fight recently where the "home town" fighter was given nearly 30 seconds.
     
    CST80 likes this.
  9. Skins

    Skins Boxing Addict Full Member

    3,008
    1,136
    Sportsbook:
    1,000
    Oct 20, 2011
    Yep. Next thing you know Reiss will have them running laps around the ring. I think he believes that people are there to see him referee
     
    CST80 likes this.