The ref just helped Hernandez up?

Discussion in 'World Boxing Forum' started by Thirdgeary, Mar 29, 2008.


  1. Thirdgeary

    Thirdgeary Clincher Full Member

    1,053
    16
    Oct 2, 2006
    Unbelievable, that ref tried everything to help Hernandez get back into that fight after he was knocked down.
    After the ref helped Hernandez to his feet from the 1st knockdown, the count seemed like about 15 secs.
    Very dodgey, good on big truck for finishing the job!
     
  2. Arriba

    Arriba Obsessed with Boxing Full Member

    27,148
    5
    Jun 30, 2007
    Honestly I think the ref thought it was a slap, helped him up....realized "oh **** he got knocked down" then tried to count.

    Probably just a dumb ass ref.
     
  3. Sebastien

    Sebastien Active Member Full Member

    889
    0
    Jul 18, 2007
    Like a lot of European refs... tried to save the local fighter.
     
  4. sean

    sean pale peice of pig`s ear Full Member

    10,097
    1,093
    Jul 19, 2004
    to be fair he only used his left hand for the first 8 seconds and then the right hand for the next 5 seconds until hernandez was up before he he strated on his count .
    he missed 1 out and started at 2 to be fair to the ref.
     
  5. mrplow182

    mrplow182 Seasoned Veteran Full Member

    3,391
    0
    Nov 3, 2007
    as opposed to joe cortez ?? he was all over Mayweather like a smiling rash posing for photos and talking to him

    Bring back Mills Lane!
     
  6. ChrisPontius

    ChrisPontius March 8th, 1971 Full Member

    19,404
    278
    Oct 4, 2005
    Yeah that was bogus ****. Reminds me of when the referee reached the count of 8 but waited untill Krasiniqi was up, against Brewster, before saying "9".
     
  7. mrplow182

    mrplow182 Seasoned Veteran Full Member

    3,391
    0
    Nov 3, 2007
    reminds me of when casamayor was out the ring for 5 hours and the ref stopped counting lol
     
  8. Thirdgeary

    Thirdgeary Clincher Full Member

    1,053
    16
    Oct 2, 2006
    Hernandez was squirming on the canvas, it was obvious he didnt go down from a slap.
    So happy Braithwaite finished him!
     
  9. Big Ears

    Big Ears Well-Known Member Full Member

    2,274
    0
    Jun 5, 2005
    It's a 20 count after you get knocked out of the ring so he was in within plenty time anyway .