Tips for sparring 30 pd bigger southpaw..

Discussion in 'Boxing Training' started by Primenal, Apr 9, 2013.

1. Primenal

Primenal Boxing Addict Full Member

Feb 10, 2008
    I've been training for quite a few years now. Haven't really sparred in quite a while though. About 2 months ago this cop from my gym invites me to a gym to box. I'm 5'6 170.. lift weights, feel i'm strong in my own right, and box about 3x a week (heavybag, shadow boxing, speedbag, mits, etc). He's about 5'8-5'9 200 pds, a small tank basically.
    I was working mits with him and noticed he was slow, but threw big time looping shots of course. I made the mistake of over training that day, and then we spar. I wore head gear, he wore no head gear. I jabbed him well, moved, etc. The head gear put me a big disadvantage I learned when he landed a huge straight left on me through the head gear (didn't see it) and busted my nose within about a minute..
    We continued sparring for the entire 3 minutes though, basically with me working my jab, and him throwing hayemakers. I was to wore out, and not used to sparring enough for 3 minutes to be willing to FIGHT him... Though since he's bigger and less skilled dunno if that'd be the wisest thing for me regardless.

Since then I've gotten my cardio up, went nothing but 3 minute rounds on the heavy bag, feel sharper, etc.
    Were suppose to spar again this thursday. I know I should move.. I made the mistake last time of moving to the right (in to his big left) cuz I didn't realize he was southpaw.
    I'm not going to wear head gear cuz he doesn't, and although I may take a bigger punch, at least I'll see it coming. Tips on how to do well against him? His movement is actually pretty good.. He's good at knowing when to come in to throw, and when to move out. Is it better to step to him so he can't throw looping punches as much, or should I use my skill, speed, and constantly move?

2. Bogotazo

Bogotazo Amateur Full Member

Oct 17, 2009