UK Boxing this week

Discussion in 'British Boxing Forum' started by TBC-ASAP, Aug 9, 2020.

1. TBC-ASAP

TBC-ASAP Boxing Junkie Full Member

Sep 7, 2017
    This content is protected

Totally missed that MTK card. Very pleasant surprise.

Accurate, pow and N17 like this.
  2. N17

N17 VIP Member Full Member

Feb 16, 2013
    This Friday.. Has anybody else been watching the Shannon Courtenay Vs Rachel Ball odds? Has anybody had a bet?

When this fight was made I raised an eyebrow, I'm not an expert on women's boxing, meaning I'm not watching every fight but I know enough to believe Ball has an excellent chance, I believed it was a huge step up for Courtenay and in my opinion Ball should be a favourite.

Anyway, when the fight was made Ball was a very generous 3/1, I was really surprised and thought "well somebody knows something I don't".. maybe she has struggled with weight, training, not getting sparring, something had to be wrong, I was looking around for news but didn't find much,

So anyway, I looked again a week later and Ball was 5/2, that was all I needed to see, so I got on, a decent bet to be fair, then a day later she's 9/4.. a couple of days after that she's 2/1.

I look again tonight and she's 11/10 with Courtenay now 4/6. We are basically looking at a 50/50 in the bookmakers eyes, the way these odds are crashing I wouldn't be surprised if Ball was favourite at the first bell.

I think Hearn might have made a mistake here, I wouldn't be surprised if Courtenay pulls out, this might have been a "cherry pick" gone very wrong.

With odds tumbling like that must mean there have been a few very big bets on Ball and some decent ones also which means she must be fit, strong, in good shape and is coming to win.

Again, I wouldn't be at all surprised if this one is called off for some reason, Courtenay isn't very good, doesn't punch very hard and was very lucky to a decision a while back.