Upcoming prospect

Discussion in 'Boxing Training' started by MMayhemM, May 13, 2020.

1. MMayhemM

MMayhemM New Member Full Member

May 12, 2020
    As a upcoming prospect now, unable to sell much tickets, should one be signing with a promoter like Goodwin who requires you to sell an average of 60 tickets to BREAK EVEN. Which is madness, many fighters have their fights cancelled due to the lack of tickets that they sell. This money of course goes out to pay the opponent (Journeyman cost roughly £1200) and other boxing costs. However, as a UK fighter what stops me from fighting abroad like in countries with cheaper opponents such as Hungary, Latvia in Europe and Egypt, Tanzania and Ghana in Africa etc. How much do the journeyman cost over there ? Anyone have a clue. The pro game seems to be literally nothing more but a business and I want to have a clue as to what im entering as I have been an amateur for a while

2. Saintpat

Saintpat Obsessed with Boxing Full Member

Jun 26, 2009
    First off, whether you’re a prospect or not depends upon what kind of potential others see in you.

And no promoter is going to sign you to a deal (where they provide X fights in X period of time with a guaranteed purse structure) if you’re not a prospect.

You need to find a manager. If no manager will work with you, you need to figure out why that is — not talented enough, are you difficult, do you need more amateur experience, etc.?

A promoter has use, basically, for fighters who fall into three categories:

1) Prospects who are signed with the promoter — these are investments: the promoter signs the fighter, promotes his fights, tries to build his record and get him to the level of contender or champion and make money