Why is it so difficult to find a proper boxing gym?

Discussion in 'Boxing Training' started by Giacomino, Apr 2, 2018.

1. Giacomino

Giacomino Member Full Member

Oct 15, 2016
    Where I live (Vancouver, Canada) it's mostly gyms offering 'boxing' classes for beginners - most of whom are still absolute beginners even a year or so down the line because said classes mostly focus on the punches without ever teaching proper stance, foot placement and movement. Same problem where you are?

Ph33rknot likes this.
  2. scoobietoobie

scoobietoobie New Member Full Member

Mar 20, 2018
    Yep. i have to train boxing at a muay thai gym which have boxing classes. but the boxing only classes are only twice a week. One is a group session with amateur fighters and beginners/fitness people and the other one is where people wanting to fight, spar. So really its only 2 days in the gym and the other 3 week days i have to go to a commercial gym to do weights, cardio and some extra bag work. This trainer still gets guys in to have amateur fights when they're ready so he's legit and he used to fight also but it just sucks only being twice a week, i want to be with a trainer 5 days a week in the gym.

3. Pat M

Pat M Active Member Full Member

Jun 20, 2017
    If the classes aren't teaching stance, footwork, or movement, IMO, you'd be better off not "learning" from them. Bad habits are just as hard to break as good ones. You can't really do the punches without proper stance, footwork, and movement.