Discussion in 'Classic Boxing Forum' started by PhillyPhan69, Mar 14, 2019.
DLH vs Quartey round 6
How would you score this round upon completion?
Some kung fu **** with that cross backhand
This content is protected
Ike won it pretty easy.
Merchant had oscar pegged. He couldn’t stand all the favoritism Oscar got. Lamprey sucked off oscar every chance he got.
I think so too, but wanted to give fair and balanced options for people to choose from.
+ I was curious how well some people understand the nuances of scoring points in controversial rounds.
Great fight. I remember that fight like it was yesterday.
If you follow the rules, options #1,3,4,7,and 8 are technically excluded. No matter who you have ahead in this round, neither can be given 10 points since both were knocked down. The rules state that the winner of each round should be awarded 10 points, and the loser 9 points or less. However, THE JUDGE MUST DEDUCT A POINT FROM ANY FIGHTER WHO SUFFERS A KNOCKDOWN. Therefore, the most either fighter in this round can get is 9 points. The round was pretty close, but, I thought Quartey won the second two minutes, whereas Oscar really only controlled the first minute. So I gave the round to Quartey (10-9), then I deducted the mandatory point off each score for a final tally of QUARTEY 9 - DeLaHoya 8.
To which set of rules are you referring? The rules of the commission where the fight occurred?
In this case, I fail to see the importance of distinguishing between a 10-9 round and a 9-8. The point spread is the only thing that matters.
What I would like to see discussed sometime is how to score a fight when one fighter has had a point taken away for an infraction, but otherwise has won the round. Are there any examples out there of that situation where the round was scored 9-9? I can't recall ever seeing such a scorecard.
I think with a point deduction it would be a 9-9.
It can be scored 10-10 as both KDs cancel each other out. It technically cannot be 9-9 or 9-8
It can be 10-10
10-9 either way
10-8 although I can’t make a case for it in this round
It cannot be 9-9 “10 pt must”
This content is protected
Even as an example when cooney fought Holmes and won the round but received a deduction it was not scored 9-9 it was actually scored 10 (-1) -9
They actually cancel each other out for 10-10
In this case all 3 judges scored 10-9 for ike
Ike quite clearly won the round, but obviously both were Knocked Down so neither can have 10 points, for me its 9-8 Ike
It's a 10-10 round.
They actually cancel each other out. Technically can’t be 9-8 as it is called the 10 point must system for a reason. One person or both must be awarded 10 pts each.
It can be scored 10(-1) but in this case rather than both being deducted they cancel out...hence all 3 official judges scored 10-9
Now that is possible....I think Ike took it, but 10-10 is within the realm of arguable and possible
Fighting Harada used the same move against Aoki.
Hmmmm....so if we relied on punch stats or compubox numbers like Mendoza would that count as a landed power punch since it is not a jab? And there is only jabs and power punches lol