Derrick Lewis

Discussion in 'MMA Forum' started by Charles White, Jul 16, 2021.

1. Charles White

Charles White Chucker Full Member

Sep 13, 2008
    I’m not really much of an MMA fan, but I do always tune in when Derrick Lewis is fighting. Hilarious dude with exciting knockouts.

From what I have read, he trained in boxing under George Foreman’s tutelage for a while before opting to go the MMA route. George apparently saw a lot of raw potential in him with the big power.

My question is what happened between George and Derrick that caused Lewis to stop training with him? And why wouldn’t Derrick stick with boxing if he had potential and obviously prefers to punch over grapple? And with there being a lot more money to be made in top level boxing than top level MMA, I don’t get his decision.

Suspect.chin likes this.
  2. Badbot

Badbot I Am An Actual Pro. Full Member

Apr 17, 2011
    Lewis went to prison.
    And when he got out, he stumbled onto MMA. And he just liked it more.

Lewis has actually made really good money in MMA, mainly due to his activity. I think he made the right decision.

Suspect.chin and Charles White like this.
  3. Moggy94

Moggy94 Active Member Full Member

Mar 25, 2021
    Lewis said on some podcast that boxing was harder and MMA was closer to a street fight so it was more appealing to him.

Charles White likes this.
  4. Charles White

Sep 13, 2008
    No kidding? Interesting. I’ll have to try and find this podcast, do you happen to remember which one it was? Thank you for sharing.

5. UnleashtheFURY

UnleashtheFURY D'oh! Full Member

Sep 29, 2012
    Terrible fighter. The HW division is an even bigger joke in MMA than it is in boxing.

mirkofilipovic likes this.
  6. Moggy94

Mar 25, 2021